Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Defective Brainchips



Defective Brainchips

Defective Brainchips


Type: Operation: Current
Cost: 2
Faction: Corp Haas-Bioroid
Faction Cost: 1
This card is not trashed until another current is played or an agenda is stolen.
The first time the Runner takes brain damage each turn, he or she takes 1 additional brain damage.

The failure rate is small. Almost targeted.
Set: The Underway Number: 72 Quantity:
Illustrator: Sara K. Diesel
Recent Decks Using This Card:
BrainBread
Two-faced Chairman
Blackout
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


4 Comments

I am a big fan of brain damage and this card just hits the right spot for me. Definitely will see play in my new HB-style decks.

 

Also nice if anarch runner uses stimhack-clone chip -combo to get a breaker into play (or any other braindamaging cards).

Photo
KillerShrike
Jun 30 2015 08:03 AM

Yeesh. HB braindamage, here I come. This arc has seen a real increase in viability to the drainbamage strategy.

 

On its own merits, this isn't a very good card. But in the right deck it becomes a vise.

Since brain damage is becoming a thing, is there a difference between ''sufferring'' and ''taking'' a b.d.? E.g. Brain Cage cybernetics cause the runner to suffer a b.d. Does this add up with this current? IMO taking a b.d. comes from the Corp, while suffering one b.d. is dealt by the runner to him/herself (Amped Up, Brain Cage, Steam Dealer, etc). Opinions?

Since brain damage is becoming a thing, is there a difference between ''sufferring'' and ''taking'' a b.d.? E.g. Brain Cage cybernetics cause the runner to suffer a b.d. Does this add up with this current? IMO taking a b.d. comes from the Corp, while suffering one b.d. is dealt by the runner to him/herself (Amped Up, Brain Cage, Steam Dealer, etc). Opinions?

 

Looking at the FAQ and the Rulebook, I'd say this is a bit of sloppiness in using a controlled vocabulary. "Taking" and "Suffering" damage seem to be interchangeable in terms of effect. In terms of style, one "takes" net damage (Shi.Kyu), one "suffers" meat damage (Argus Security et al.), then one either "suffers" or "takes" brain damage.

 

Sentinel Defense Program is the only card where the distinction would make a difference, but I think it's a distinction without a difference (same goes for "doing" net/brain/meat damage: "doing" causes the Runner to "suffer" or "take" damage). "Doing," "Suffering," and "Taking" are the same in this context, i.e. the Runner is damaged by these effects.

 

I find no official word on this sloppiness, however. "Suffer" is used once in the Rulebook (referring to ICE subroutines) and once in the FAQ (referring to any brain damage).

 

Other than Defective Brainchips, Wotan is the only card that characterizes the Runner as "taking" brain damage. Seven cards refer to the Runner "suffering" brain damage.

 

Good catch, and I think this warrants a question to the FAQ: "Is there any difference between taking and suffering damage?" in order to gain absolute clarity here.

    • KillerShrike and dimithrone like this

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.