Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Executive Boot Camp



Executive Boot Camp

Executive Boot Camp


Type: Asset
Cost: 0
Faction: Corp The Weyland Consortium
Faction Cost: 1
When your turn begins, you may rez a card, lowering the rez cost by 1 [Credit] .
1 [Credit] , [Trash] : Search R&D for an asset, reveal it, and add it to HQ. Shuffle R&D.

Do it again, but this time I want to see you to enunciate less. Maybe let some spittle fly.
Trash: 3
Set: All that Remains Number: 88 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Gong Studios
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Midgame Titan Transnational
Midgame Weyland
Round Table
Fast Advance FINAL
Weyland Takeover
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


17 Comments

Photo
KillerShrike
Nov 22 2014 08:36 AM

I'm having a hard time finding a really compelling use for this card. Even the super-obvious use in Blue Sun seems sub par.

Photo
Nerdmeister
Nov 25 2014 08:01 AM

Got a cheap/poor NBN deck with loads of cheap ICE.

When there isn´t too much money in the deck this small help will stretch what few creds I do have even longer.

Use it to tutor for a Snare. The runner will think twice before hitting HQ.

Photo
KillerShrike
Nov 25 2014 10:01 PM
Eh...fetching Snare has been thrown around for this card elsewhere. Sure, you can, but that's more of a tactical trick you might pull off when in play events cause it to make sense, and less of a game winning stragegy you build a deck around, in my opinion. The card would need to carry more water on its own merits with the occasional little card combo being a situational boon.
 
Minimum cost to pull off Executive Boot Camp -> Snare:
 
Some # of card slots, probably 2 or 3
Click to install executive boot camp.
$1 and trash to fetch Snare
% chance for runner to access Snare from HQ
    (assuming 5 cards in hand and single access, 20% chance)
$4 to trigger Snare if accessed
 
 
Intangibles:
+ might deter runner from running HQ in the first place
- removing a Snare from R&D makes R&D less dangerous to run
 
+ might save a few bucks rezzing things with the discount
+ rezzing economy assets for less improves their yield
- rezzing ice outside of a run gives the runner free information and nullifies surprise factor and uncertainty
 
 
- trashable cards make R&D more vulnerable
+ 0 to rez 3 to trash is a ratio favorable to the corporation
+ as this effect is relatively minor, runners other than Wizzard may not bother to trash it
 

- If this card is part of a combo, you'll want to run more than 1 of them

- the effect doesn't stack

- 2 or 3 card slots for an effect this mild is a high opportunity cost

- General wisdom on card combos applies, to this card's detriment (see http://boardgamegeek...bos-netrunner-a by alexfrog for a good write up)

 

 

Having said that, sure...in some decks this card might synergize well enough with something to make it do some good work.

 

For instance, yesterday afternoon I was noodling around a notional Foundry deck using Next and Grail ice, and considered using this card to accelerate pulling ice out of the deck.

 

The Foundry reads "The first time you rez a piece of ice each turn, you may search R&D for another copy of that ice, reveal it, and add it to HQ. Shuffle R&D."

 

The "each turn" language means you can trigger the ability in the normal way when the runner approaches your ice, and also using this card to trigger it yourself on your turn. Throw in some sweet HB assets that you can tutor up as needed and suddenly this card triggers the ID thus working as a limited Ice tutor and helps your economy and finally serves as an Asset tutor. That might be worth the 1 inf per card and card slots.

 

That's about the best case use for this card I've been able to come up with; and that's not all that exciting. If someone more clever than me comes up with a killer use for this card I'll be the first to applaud them and change my mind, but in the meantime I'm very much in the "wait and see" category.

    • KillerShrike and AdorablePython like this

I'm having a hard time finding a really compelling use for this card. Even the super-obvious use in Blue Sun seems sub par.

Really? Seems like a good one-of in Blue Sun just to increase your chances of getting Adonis running. If you were running 3 Adonis before, now you can run 2 and one of these and have 2 extra influence for another Tollbooth. Seems like a good use to me...

Photo
KillerShrike
Dec 15 2014 07:43 PM

Really? Seems like a good one-of in Blue Sun just to increase your chances of getting Adonis running. If you were running 3 Adonis before, now you can run 2 and one of these and have 2 extra influence for another Tollbooth. Seems like a good use to me...

 

Sure, that's a use. It's inline with my original thoughts re: comboing well with HB assets, though in a different context.

 

 

Having said that, sure...in some decks this card might synergize well enough with something to make it do some good work.

 

Throw in some sweet HB assets that you can tutor up as needed ... serves as an Asset tutor.

 

 

Also, I've come around on this card a bit since originally commenting. My opinion on it has improved as it seems like a good helper card in Blue Sun, not for the minor economy savings but instead to counter runners playing around the ID. Also, I played it once in BS against Leela last week and being able to force rez if I wanted to was a decent soft counter to her ability.

Yeah, I mean it's not game changing or anything, it's just a decent addition to some decks.

    • KillerShrike likes this
This card works wonders in my Asset heavy Foundry Deck.
You have to love that trash cost on this ice and in HB you don't have a problem getting this card back
And when I say Ice I mean Asset!

Please fix faction to Weyland

Photo
CommissarFeesh
Jan 07 2015 10:15 PM

Please fix faction to Weyland


There's a forum thread for reporting database errors - it won't get picked up here.
    • Meadbeard likes this
Photo
AdorablePython
Feb 06 2015 10:38 AM

Could be useful in a deck with many Campaigns in it, which are rezzed at the beginning of your turn anyway. Makes them even more cost-efficient. There is also a potential synergy with Salvage, Tyrant and Woodcutter. You may advance those cards without them being encountered empty first.

 

Also, Spark Agency. Rez your Special Offers and Pop-up Windows in your own turn, triggering the ID. And if you have problems against Valencia, this counters Blackmail.

Photo
AdorablePython
Mar 27 2016 09:15 AM

Oh. Is that even a legal action? Rezzing PAD/Launch Campaign at the beginning of my turn, utilizing Executive Boot Camp, and then immediately gaining the credits?

No. Step 1.2 only resolves 'When your turn begins' triggers on cards that were already rezzed at step 1.1.

Photo
AdorablePython
Mar 27 2016 03:50 PM

No. Step 1.2 only resolves 'When your turn begins' triggers on cards that were already rezzed at step 1.1.

 

Time to restructure my Spark deck then.

Photo
AdorablePython
Mar 29 2016 05:45 PM

Q: Can the Corp score a Research Grant, use Team Sponsorship to install another copy of it, and then score the new copy with the ability on the first Research Grant?

A: Yes. The Corp can choose the order in which his or her simultaneous effects trigger.

 

From the official FAQ. Isn't it the same principle with Executive Boot Camp and PAD?

No, because there is a specific allowance made for rezzing, paid abilities and agenda scoring after every action (let's call it step 2.2.1). Step 1.2 checks for 'When your turn begins' trigger conditions on rezzed cards, fires them, and then moves to step 1.3. It doesn't repeat itself to check for cards that were rezzed as part of this step.


Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.