Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Slave I



Slave I

♦ Slave I


Type: Unit
Cost: 4
Force Icons: 3
Icons: 2 1 1
Faction: Dark Scum and Villainy
Vehicle. Transport.
Interrupt: When a Pilot card you control leaves play, return it to its owner’s hand instead. (Limit once per turn.)
Health: 3
Resources Generated:
Block Number: 160 - 3 of 6
Set: Attack Run Number: 0790
Illustrator:
* * * - -   3 Bounty Hunting Scum have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 160
Recent Decks Using This Card:


15 Comments

this is stupid

Would be neat if you could back your statement with some actual arguments.

 

It's a powerful support ability, certainly. It's also on an expensive, combat-oriented unit.

The Empire's Elite does basically the same for free, and it's perceived as just an average objective.

 

Hobbie is also similar. For one resource, the Rogue Squad X-Wings become unkillable beasts.

I like this ability on both Slave I and Empire's Elite. Pilots tend to give up card advantage since you're putting 2 cards into a single unit; getting the pilots (and in Elite's case, the ship too) back is useful.

 

Slave is even more potent, as it can give you back Boba even if he's removed while not piloting!

Right. I was so focused on the pilots' abilities that I completely missed Slave I doesn't even care if they're actually piloting stuff or not.

Yeah, i did too at first. I don't get it from a thematic standpoint, but I like it in the game. 

seems like mercenary support could be real nice along with this set.  If the slave 1 is out you could drop fett in with merc support in any phase before deploy, then he jumps back to your hand at the end of the phase, then redeploy again on your deploy phase to capture another unit.  even if slave 1 isn't out, you just need a stay on target to get him back in after merc support discards him.

 

This set seems like its going to be a big boost for scum.

    • chunkygorillas and TheNameWasTaken like this
Photo
AegonTargaryen
Jun 24 2015 08:53 AM

But Mercenary Support says "If that unit is still in play ... discard it" and Boba Fett is not a unit if he is a pilot attachment. So the objective would not discard him at the end of phase, I believe ? Of course, you could put him into play as a unit, then use him in an engagement  and Slave I would return him to your hand at end of the phase, which is not bad either.

After playing a few games with this card, I have to admit I'm never sure what to do with it. It does have 2 guns, which is pretty rare in most of the vehicle-based decks I play it in, but otherwise I'm usually hesitant to drop it for 4 unless I'm already ahead. It's a fair cost for the stats, but I usually want to drop more smaller stuff, or a few units and a pilot. At least it's good for the edge, otherwise this is a very 3/5 card for me. 

If a card (Boba, for example) is being used as a pilot (and if I understand the rules correctly) he counts as an enhancement and "is piloting" the vehicle, though all the card text is considered blank.  Can Slave I save a card that is piloting a vehicle, or only Pilot cards that are in play as units?

Photo
TheNameWasTaken
Jan 11 2016 08:20 AM

Pilots don't lose their card text while piloting things. The parenthetical text following the Pilot(X) keyword is only there while they're piloting but not when they're played as units, but everything else is there regardless of whether they're a unit or an enhancement. See FAQ pg.14 or any of the Rogue Squadron rules inserts for the full pilot rules.

 

Slave I can save any card with the Pilot trait you have, regardless of its type.

 

Side note - as far as I remember, every card that blanks another card always lets it keep any traits it might have.

Pilots don't lose their card text while piloting things. The parenthetical text following the Pilot(X) keyword is only there while they're piloting but not when they're played as units, but everything else is there regardless of whether they're a unit or an enhancement. See FAQ pg.14 or any of the Rogue Squadron rules inserts for the full pilot rules.

 

Slave I can save any card with the Pilot trait you have, regardless of its type.

 

Side note - as far as I remember, every card that blanks another card always lets it keep any traits it might have.

 

I forgot where I (supposedly) saw it, but I could have sworn that there was a rule or FAQ that when a unit card is played as an enhancement (which I thought included when it is used as a pilot) then the card loses its card text and just becomes a blank enhancement.  Perhaps I saw a specific instance of this for a card and I accidentally generalized it to all cards.

 

Neverthless, thanks for clearing that up for me!

 

EDIT: While trying to loook into it, maybe I confused the rules for captured cards with pilots.  Still not sure, but that would explain it.  Lol.

If I bounce Slave 1 into my opponents hand (outmanouvre) with Boba attached, does the interrupt still trigger? Because the unit with the interrupt itself leaves play first, causing the pilot to drop.
Photo
MasterJediAdam
Sep 16 2016 02:15 AM
I am fairly certain boba returns with the ship.

If I bounce Slave 1 into my opponents hand (outmanouvre) with Boba attached, does the interrupt still trigger? Because the unit with the interrupt itself leaves play first, causing the pilot to drop.

No, they leave play at the same time.

Photo
CataractCowboy
Nov 11 2016 03:10 PM

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.