Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
- - - - -
Photo

The Noldor Special




4 Comments

Vilya doesn't make Elrond a spirit hero It only gives him the icon, not the spirit trait, so you can't put silver harp on him.

 

I do like the to the sea, cheap Glorfindel from the discard pile combo. In fact that's probably the only way I'd ever play him, as otherwise he's too expensive.

Photo
SliceAndDice
Oct 20 2016 09:17 AM

Vilya doesn't make Elrond a spirit hero It only gives him the icon, not the spirit trait, so you can't put silver harp on him.

 

I do like the to the sea, cheap Glorfindel from the discard pile combo. In fact that's probably the only way I'd ever play him, as otherwise he's too expensive.

 

Would you mind citing a source on that ruling? Because it seems to me that adding the icon without bestowing the trait is rather pointless, since by that logic he wouldn't be able to pay for Spirit cards either (since he wouldn't be a Spirit Hero, he'd be a Lore Hero with a Spirit Icon).

The icon is what lets him pay for spirit cards, the trait is for interacting with cards like silver harp that require a specific trait.

It's the same way the Gandalf hero works, he can pay for cards from all four spheres with his ability, but doesn't count as any of them.

 

From the FAQ:
Q: When Oin (OtD 4) gains the tactics resource icon
from his ability, does that count as the "printed" tactics
resource icon?
A: No. The "printed" resource icon always refers to
the icon that appears in the Resource Icon space as
identified on page 8 in the rulebook.

That's an incorrect conclusion to make dieyoda. The FAQ ruling you've linked to is in reference to an ability that interacts with a "printed" resource icon. The text on Silver Harp states "Attach to a Spirit hero", it does not state "Attach to a hero with a printed Spirit icon". That distinction means that a hero whom has gained a Spirit icon is indeed eligible for the attachment. Another combination that's possible (and quite popular), for example, is Song of Wisdom + A Burning Brand

 

To quote the relevant part of the rules: "Resource Icons: Found only on hero cards, these icons indicate the sphere(s) of influence to which resource tokens in this hero’s resource pool belong. They also indicate to which sphere(s) the hero card itself belongs."

 

 

As an extra note, should a hero ever lose an icon after attaching something that required it the attachment stays attached (e.g. If Elrond had Vilya and the Silver Harp attached and somehow lost Vilya, he'd keep the Harp attached). This has previously been confirmed by Nate

    • LoricatusLupus likes this