Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

Heroes and Legends Objective with Unfinished Business


Best Answer dbmeboy , 01 October 2015 - 02:39 PM

The end result is that Kyle stays on the table.

When one copy leaves play and a new copy enters play, it is a new unit. Thus, when Unfinished Business goes to discard the unit it put into play, it does not see that unit and that part of the effect fizzles.

Also, please post the game text of cards in question when posting to the rules forum. It helps with timely and accurate replies. Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1
blackhalo23

blackhalo23

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Assume that I have Heroes and Legends objective on table and not focused.

 

Assume I'm holding Kyle Katarn in hand and have another copy in discard pile.

 

I play Unfinished Business to return Kyle Katarn from discard pile into play until end of phase.

 

I focus Heroes and Legends objective to "bounce" the Kyle (which entered play from discard pile via Unfinished Business) and play the "fresh" Kyle from my hand.

 

What happens at end of phase?  Does the "fresh" Kyle still get discarded?

 

Would this question have been different if I would have used two distinct copies of the same character such as Luke Skywalker from different objective sets?



#2
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts
✓  Best Answer
The end result is that Kyle stays on the table.

When one copy leaves play and a new copy enters play, it is a new unit. Thus, when Unfinished Business goes to discard the unit it put into play, it does not see that unit and that part of the effect fizzles.

Also, please post the game text of cards in question when posting to the rules forum. It helps with timely and accurate replies.

#3
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

I thought I read somewhere here that you can keep the unit.

It's not the same unit(even if the art is the same) that you started with, so it doesn't go back to the discard.

I checked the last 2 pages of the Official Responses but couldn't find the ruling/discussion.



#4
dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 3930 posts

I thought I read somewhere here that you can keep the unit.
It's not the same unit(even if the art is the same) that you started with, so it doesn't go back to the discard.
I checked the last 2 pages of the Official Responses but couldn't find the ruling/discussion.

Ruling is probably much further back than that as the interaction has been around for a long time thanks to Infiltration.

#5
blackhalo23

blackhalo23

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 142 posts

Thanks very much for the answer.  Will also remember to include quote of card text for next time.  Cheers all.  =)



#6
theChony

theChony

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 307 posts

Found the discussion on the card itself. I'm sure there is more similar stuff with Infiltration, maybe even a ruling.

http://www.cardgamed...-business-r1345