Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Unfinished Business



Unfinished Business

Unfinished Business


Type: Event
Cost: 1
Force Icons: 2
Faction: Light Jedi
Action: Put a unit from a friendly player’s discard pile into play under your control. If that unit is still in play at the end of the phase, discard it.
Resources Generated:
Block Number: 161 - 5 of 6
Set: Chain of Command Number: 0797
Illustrator: Jeff Lee Johnson
* * * * *   2 Jedi Knights have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 161
Recent Decks Using This Card:


13 Comments

Assuming rulings haven't changed unknown to me, anyone else finding this card a bit too powerful for pilots? Comes from discard AND will stay in play, and during any action window? Sure it's Jedi, but there is one Jedi pilot pod out there. The fate card does the same for free, but I still don't like pilots getting around this type of thing.

certainly not for pilots, we already have fate cards that do the same thing only they do it for free.  So why do you think this is more OP than stay on target?  falcon can do it, secret guardian can do it, infiltrate can do it.  i think its fine.

Very powerfull card, somwhat like Sneak Attack from Lord of the Rings the Card Game. One question though, whose discard pile does the unit go after use? The friendly players or your own?

Very powerfull card, somwhat like Sneak Attack from Lord of the Rings the Card Game. One question though, whose discard pile does the unit go after use? The friendly players or your own?

Whenever a card goes to a hand, deck, or discard pile, it goes to its owner's respective location.

Tell me one thing please. If I use it on Kyle to get it on the board and then Imma use heroes and legends to switch Kyle, do I need to put swtiched Kyle back to the discard pile?

Applying logic and all that "card memory" stuff from other games, I'm inclined to say no.

If you retrieved core Luke and then swapped him for BtS Luke, would he go to the discard pile afterwards? The name is the same but it's clearly a different unit.

In Kyle's case, even though they're theoretically the same they're still different cards.

 

That's my reasoning anyway. Hopefully someone else can check and confirm.

Applying logic and all that "card memory" stuff from other games, I'm inclined to say no.

If you retrieved core Luke and then swapped him for BtS Luke, would he go to the discard pile afterwards? The name is the same but it's clearly a different unit.

In Kyle's case, even though they're theoretically the same they're still different cards.

 

That's my reasoning anyway. Hopefully someone else can check and confirm.

 

I believe this is correct. In this case, "that unit" is referring to "that unit card," i.e., the exact card you used Unfinished Business on in the first place. Since that card is no longer in play after swapping with H&L, you don't have to send anything back to discard. 

I think they actually ruled this exact thing.  If the card leaves play via Heroes and Legends and is replaced by another card, then it doesn't get discarded.  I'm not sure where the link is though.  I'll try to look.

The question I was wondering is if a pilot unit is put into play using this card, when you go to discard, it is no longer a unit, but an enhancement. The card specifies "If that unit is still in play..." would it still be discarded?

They reversed the earlier ruling - you can't bring a pilot into play as an attachment using Unfinished Business, only as a unit. 

 

You would not discard a pilot enhancement since Unfinished Business checks for a unit in play.

    • Fayde likes this
Photo
TheNameWasTaken
Oct 02 2015 07:39 AM

They reversed the earlier ruling - you can't bring a pilot into play as an attachment using Unfinished Business, only as a unit. 

 

When it was possible, yes, it would not discard a pilot enhancement since Unfinished Business specifies unit.

 

This is actually not true. Unfinished Business doesn't say the unit it's bringing back must necessarily enter play as a unit (unlike, say, Infiltration), therefore you can choose to bring it back as an enhancement. Which means it'd stay in play after the phase ends, since it's not a unit.

That is correct. Editing my previous comment.

 

Relevant ruling:

http://www.cardgamed...ersed/?p=193870

 

The key thing to look for when deciding if it is possible to alter how a pilot enters play from an effect is whether a specific qualifier to the entering exists in the effect text.

 

Stay on Target reads "You may put a Pilot card into play from your hand or discard pile as an enhancement", so you cannot choose to have the card enter play as a unit.

 

Infiltration reads "During an engagement, put a Character unit into play from your hand as a participating unit", so it has to enter as a unit and cannot be changed to enhancement.

 

Millennium Falcon (EoD) reads "Return this unit to your hand to put a Character or Droid unit into play from your hand." That doesn't have a qualifier to how it enters play, and thus a unit with the pilot keyword could enter play as an enhancement.

 

Unfinished Business reads "Put a unit from a friendly player’s discard pile into play under your control." Like the Falcon, it doesn't have a qualifier attached to the entering, so you are able to make the choice for a pilot unit to enter play as an enhancement.

 

----

 

Unfinished Business also checks for "that unit" when making the discard, meaning if the card you brought into play isn't a unit at the point of time the check is made (or if it was swapped with Heroes and Legends to no longer be the same card) you don't discard it.

Photo
CataractCowboy
Nov 04 2016 03:06 PM

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.