Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

[Ruling] Borther's Robes + Frozen Solid

- - - - -

Best Answer mplain , 20 September 2018 - 07:54 PM

If Brother's Robes is used on Frozen Solid, the attachment loses its text "location only". Does it then become illegally attached, and therefore discarded?


Yes. If Brother’s Robes is used on an attachment attached to a location, that attachment will lose its “location only” text. It will no longer be legally attached and is therefore discarded.

[Danny Schaefer, 20.09.2018]

Go to the full post »


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1438 posts

If Brother's Robes is used on Frozen Solid, the attachment loses its text "location only". Does it then become illegally attached, and therefore discarded?
 

Brother's Robes

Reaction: After attached character is knelt, choose a location or attachment. Until the end of the phase, treat that card as if its printed text box were blank (except for Traits).

 

Frozen Solid

Non-limited location with printed cost 3 or lower only. Terminal.
Treat attached location's printed text box as if it were blank (except for Traits).

 

RR "Attachment Cards"

- An attachment can only attach to a character, unless otherwise specified by the attachment's text.
- If a situation arises in which an attachment is not legally attached, discard the attachment.



#2
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1438 posts
✓  Best Answer

If Brother's Robes is used on Frozen Solid, the attachment loses its text "location only". Does it then become illegally attached, and therefore discarded?


Yes. If Brother’s Robes is used on an attachment attached to a location, that attachment will lose its “location only” text. It will no longer be legally attached and is therefore discarded.

[Danny Schaefer, 20.09.2018]



#3
Odrl

Odrl

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 98 posts

What happens if two attachments become illegally attached because of each other's text? Let's say Brother's Robes is used on Blessed by the Maiden, then Ward is played on the character that has Blessed attached. At the end of the phase, Ward will become attached to a character with "no attachments except Blessing", and Blessing will become attached to a character the player does not control. What happens? Are both attachments discarded simultaneously, or is one discarded (presumably first player's choice) and the other one then becomes legal and stays on?
 
Blessed by the Maiden:

Character you control only.
Attached character gains The Seven trait and "No attachments except Blessing."

 
Ward:

Character with printed cost 4 or lower only. Terminal.
Take control of attached character.
Attached character gains the Stark affiliation.


  • mplain likes this

#4
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1438 posts
At the end of the phase, when the lasting effect of Brother's Robes expires, two attachments become illegally attached, and are discarded. First player would only get to choose the order if the two attachments could not be discarded simultaneously, but they can.

EDIT: We've discussed this, and we agree there can be another possible interpretation. I'll ask Danny.
  • Odrl likes this

#5
mplain

mplain

    Advanced Member

  • Contributor
  • PipPipPip
  • 1438 posts

[Ruling] Blessed by the Maiden + Brother's Robes + Ward