Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Photo

The word "Other"


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts

Hello,

 

We learned here that when text in this game says "other x" that means there must be at least one x for the text to actually apply: http://www.cardgamed...-a-second-unit/

 

The RRG says "If a value is “set” to a specific number, the set value is considered after all other modifiers have been applied."

 

Squiggify reads "Combat Action: Target a non-Vehicle army unit. Until the end of the phase, set that unit’s ATK value to 1, its printed text box is treated as blank (except for Traits), and it gains the Squig trait."

 

If Alice has a Black Legion Heldrake, and Bob plays Squiggify on it, and there are no other modifiers trying to change the ATK of the Black Legion Heldrake, and "after all other modifiers" means there must be at least 1 other modifier, does the Heldrake have 8 ATK?


  • Tyralu and Jamestrunk like this

#2
tdnordine

tdnordine

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 364 posts

Short answer: No, the Heldrake has 1 ATK.

 

Longer (but still short) answer:  The linked discussion is referring to the templating "each other unit" or "each other <?> unit" which doesn't apply to the "all other modifiers" statement in the RRG.  The purpose of the RRG stsement is to prevent other "+1" type of effects from increasing the set value.

 

Also not referencing in any written rules anywhere, but your interpretation goes against the spirit of what Squiggify is for.



#3
sharpobject

sharpobject

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 65 posts
Brad's email seems to have said this: "The use of the word “other" here does mean that there must be atleast 1 other exhausted unit at the planet for the attached unit to get the bonus."
Imperial Power Fist says this: "Attach to an army unit you control. While each other unit you control at this planet is exhausted, attached unit gets +5 ATK."
 
The email does mention that it is about other units (because it is about Imperial Power Fist) but doesn't take a stance on whether it's true or not about other occurrences of the word "other"
 
I agree that Squiggify should still work while 0 other modifiers are around.
 
Thanks for having a look, by the way.