Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Temporal Slip

Temporal Slip

Temporal Slip

Type: Event Faction: Yog-Sothoth
Cost: 2
Game Text:
Disrupt: After an icon struggle effect resolves, choose an icon struggle. Resolve that struggle as if you had won it.
Set: TKatG
Number: 31
Illustrator: Alice Duke


I like this card, but I don't like that it doesn't tell you WHERE the chosen struggle is resolved.  Also, can you choose any icon struggle, or only a struggle that's present at that story?  And are you replacing the chosen icon struggle at that story, or does the chosen icon struggle just effectively occur an extra time with the caster of Temporal Slip as the automatic winner?


Also, does playing this card trigger cards such as Tear in Time?  This card says "as if you had won" the chosen struggle, but Tear in Time says "after you win an arcane struggle."  Technically, Temporal Slip can't let you win an arcane struggle, but I assume it would still trigger Tear in Time...?


I like this card, but I think it needs so much more clarification (and it's not like they didn't have space on the card!).

Nov 13 2015 11:52 PM

This card does seem to cause trouble. By popular consensus:

You are not replacing a struggle, you are effectively inserting an extra struggle.

You are inserting this struggle+win at the story currently resolving and resolving it there.


For the other questions:

Since you are inserting a struggle, and it does not tell you to choose an icon struggle "present at this story", then I would assume you can choose any struggle type.


Tear in Time interaction is trickier, I have less confidence on this one.

My first instinct is Yes. The trouble is whether the "resolve" in Temporal slip means resolve the whole struggle or more refers to just resolve its struggle effect. The former would probably trigger Tear in Time, the later likely wouldn't.

But I see no reason why the "as if you had won it." bit would be local to this card. Rather I think you would appear to have won that struggle from any perspective that happens to care.

So, if the struggle you inserted was an Arcane struggle, then yes, Tear in Time would trigger.


There is a rules here: New player with a couple of questions, which includes a discussion of some of these points, but not all.

Good points. Thanks for your feedback. I'm pretty much on the same page as you, I think.

Call of Cthulhu: The Card Game, Living Card Game, the Living Card Game logo, Fantasy Flight Games, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.