Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Call of the Three-Eyed Crow



Call of the Three-Eyed Crow

Call of the Three-Eyed Crow



Type: Event House: Stark
Cost:
Game Text:

House Stark only.
Response: After a unique non-Army character you own enters your dead pile, put that character into play knelt under your control.
Number: 111 Set: AJE
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Darek Zabrocki
Recent Decks: Noble
Stark: Wolves & Arya (Final Version 60 Cards)
Stark: Wolves & Arya v3 (Final)
Stark Winter Shadows
Stark Aggro


28 Comments

Is this card missing an "instead"?

Or does putting the character into play knelt automatically remove its Moribund: Dead state (if it was killed)?
Far as I can tell-- it dies. It actually dies, loses all power and attachments. And then you get it back in play. It's not a 'save', which may be useful for certain effects.
Photo
emptyrepublic
Jul 02 2013 10:31 AM
See here for the current discussion. Ultimately FFG will have to clear this up at some point.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 02 2013 04:39 PM
So it goes from moribund:dead, to magic land, to being put into play knelt.... how... odd.
    • Angarde likes this
@sloth: I got your back. I was thinking about this card the other day and I think I have an adequate explanation for it. Think of the response to bring back into play knelt as a lasting effect that's played during the step 5 responses, but it doesn't actually do anything until after the card leaves play in step 6. Like Catelyn or Khal Drogo returning to hand at the end of phase, etc. So the FAQ states that when a card goes moribund:destination you can respond to that as though it already left play (which is why this works and Meera's response works, etc.). The confusion is that no one is certain how this works in the rules for the card leaving play and returning to play, but why don't we just use this lasting effect logic? It fits perfectly. You can trigger the response in Step 5 since your card is now moribund:deadpile (so we respond as though it has entered it already) but since it hasn't (physically) yet the effect of this card doesn't take place until step 6.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 05 2013 06:35 AM
@agkmte - you've sold me. that does work out really well then.
I guess I should emphasize that this interpretation means the character you are using this on would actually stay moribund:dead all the way through the framework. Meaning that Meera would stay moribund:dead the entire time even if brought back with this card. So she could not die and then still use her response to return to shadows. Though she can of course respond to another character being killed and returned with this event (if she was not also killed that is!).
Photo
NorthMaester
Jul 05 2013 04:26 PM
Per the FAQ, you wouldn't be able to trigger Meera if she was moribund at any time during the action window.

Although considered in play, a Moribund card
cannot be removed from play (or targeted to
be removed from play) again by any effect or
any attempt to pay a cost for the remainder of
the action window.

(See Rules exception on page 17)
The new FAQ fixed the issue.

(3.42) Moribund Cards Returning to Play
Any effect that attempts to return a moribund card to play from its moribund destination should be treated as a replacement effect
that changes the card's moribund state
to "remaining in play." The card is still considered to have left play for the purpose of responses and passive effects. All attachments and tokens on it are discarded. During step
6 of the action window, when all moribund cards are moved to their final destinations, the card is removed from the moribund state but remains in play.



So the effect is treated as a replacement effect without the need for 'instead'
If this event is used on a character, that was already in play (so not the Aegon's Hill case), can you trigger "comes into play" abilities? Like Long Lances (THoBaW) or Benjen Stark (BtW) if he was the target?
Apparently not, as the character didn't actually leave and re-enter play.
Photo
slothgodfather
Aug 17 2013 10:00 AM
Actually it very much sounds like you could. You have an original state of moribund:dead pile which, according to the FAQ entry we still consider the card to have left play for function of responses and such. If the card is considered to have left play, then you play this event which has the text "put into play" I would say it's is now considered to be leaving and entering play at the same time. About as odd as having Summer and Winter seasons at the same time...
That's what I thought at first, but I am not so sure now, after rereading FAQ excerpt (cited by Golladan above). It says, that character's moribund state is changed to "remaining in play". If the card remains in play, it is hard to argue, that it has entered play. I have seen weirder things in AGoT though...
Exactly. The FAQ says it changes the Moribund state to "remaining in play" so it doesn't seem like the card actually re-enters play.

ktom talks about it here:
http://community.fan...hree-eyed-crow/

Attachments become moribund when the card becomes moribund, right?
And I'm guessing any power on the card stays on the card.

And I'm guessing any power on the card stays on the card.


Well, as you have already said:

The card is still considered to have left play for the purpose of responses and passive effects. All attachments and tokens on it are discarded.

>.> Silly me.
Photo
Raithwalker
Aug 20 2013 11:58 AM
I'm still confused about this. I just want a simple answer and then an argument in its defense. Let's just say I just chose
Meera Reed (TftH) to satisfy the 1 claim of a military challenge.
I want to use this card on Meera Reed. Can she trigger her own response due to her "considered to have left play" state?
No. The entry in the FAQ is slightly confusing, but I'll bold the relevant part:

Any effect that attempts to return a moribund
card to play from its moribund destination
should be treated as a replacement effect
that changes the card's moribund state
to "remaining in play." The card is still
considered to have left play for the purpose of
responses and passive effects. All attachments
and tokens on it are discarded. During step
6 of the action window, when all moribund
cards are moved to their final destinations, the
card is removed from the moribund state but
remains in play.
In other words, she'd still be moribund:dead during the response window in which you could trigger her response, and since triggering her response would therefore result in her moribund destination changing, you can't trigger it.
The way I read the FAQ, if The Viper's Bannermen (PotS) or Dale Seaworth (AToTT) were killed, their response can be used used as their are moribund:dead. If they are then the trage tof CotTEC, their response can not be used as they were not considered to re-enter play.

If I foolishly used CotTEC as my first response, I would not get to user their response afterwards as they were never considered to leave play while in the Moribung:Return-to-play state.
If you used the call first you can still use their response because the condition still happened.
Needs to be a unique non-Army character though...
Photo
slothgodfather
Aug 20 2013 04:04 PM
So Dale doesn't trigger upon "re-entry" even though the ability of the card says to "put that character into play"?
Photo
NorthMaester
Aug 21 2013 06:29 AM
No, as he "remains in play".
Photo
slothgodfather
Aug 21 2013 02:57 PM
I'm going to split hairs a bit here. The destination actually doesn't matter, because cards like character agendas (or other destination replacement effects) are still considered to have been killed, regardless of their destination. Also, even if you play this event first and make them moribund:remains in play you are still able to trigger effects "as if" they have left play. And the card's ability does say to "put that character into play". Just seems inconsistent.
Photo
Raithwalker
Aug 21 2013 03:28 PM
Second question, although I'm fairly certain I know the answer to this one. Can this card target characters that are "immune to events," such as
Damon Dance-For-Me (VD)? If I remember correctly, he is still immune to events while he is moribund:dead pile. However, because this event only works after they enter the dead pile, I feel there is wiggle room. Anyone got the answer?