Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Corpse Lake

Corpse Lake

Unique Corpse Lake

Type: Location House: Greyjoy
Game Text:
Iron Islands.
Response: After a triggered effect discards 1 or more characters from the top of an opponent's deck, claim 1 power for your House. (Limit 3 times per round.)
Number: 87 Set: TBC
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Yoann Boissonnet
Recent Decks: Greyjoy Discard
the poulpys strike back
greyjoy mill
Greyjoy War Raiders v2
GJ White Book Kingsguard


Looks like the Greyjoy discard theme is getting a massive boost in recent chapter packs. This, Euron Crow's Eye (TGM), Asha Greyjoy (WLL), Theon Greyjoy (WLL)...
Alannys Greyjoy (ODG)...
This card is so good. Played it in a mill deck this weekend and got at least 8 power over the course of the match with it.
Yeah this card is amazing!
Something I'm not sure about... If an effect causes multiple opponents to discard a character, do get more than 1 power, or only 1?
Mar 04 2012 10:49 PM
The power claim is based on the triggered effect not number of opponents effected. Thus only obe power is claimed per discard effect.
Darn, I was afraid that would be the answer... Still a decent card though. Thanks :-)
Mar 22 2012 03:11 PM
just used this last night in a deck built around the new Euron and fishmongers square, really really great card for 1 gold, plus someone was playing the new Doran Martell and that was fueling me as well, won in turn 5
Raiding the Reach (TGM) trigger this effect?
Yes, it would, but you still only get 1 power.

Since no one has mentioned it yet, Iron Fleet Raiders (MotA) does not trigger this card.
Apr 04 2012 01:27 PM
Why would
Iron Fleet Raiders (MotA) not trigger
Corpse Lake (TBC)?
It would seem Iron Fleet Raiders (MotA) should trigger the lake; the Raiders' ability is a triggered effect that causes the top card of an opponent's deck to be discarded. Corpse Lake doesn't state that YOU have to trigger the effect, only that the effect discards the card from the top of an opponent's deck.
no they don't cause there the discarding is the cost not the effect.
Iron Fleet Raiders has an any phase triggered effect. No matter how, a card is going to end in the discard pile, so yes Iron fleet raiders can trigger this card. You are responding for the discard part of the effect, not for the strenght weakening part.
The discard part of Iron Fleet Raiders (MotA) is a Cost and not a Triggered Effect. Thus, it does not trigger Corpse Lake, which requires discard from a Triggered Effect.

Think of it like this: If someone used Seasick (KotS) to cancel the Iron Fleet Raider's ability, then would you un-discard the card? No, because it was not part of the Triggered Effect. It was a Cost of the Triggered Effect.
The whole thing together is the triggered effect, which in this case has a cost. The cost is, just as you said before, is to discard a card, for something to happen. What happens is simply doesn't matter, Corpse Lake responds for a discarded card. And what happens after triggering the effect? A card is discarded, and the strength is lowered.
Corpse Lake ignores the strength part, but responds for the discardign part.
By following your logic, the The Inn of the Kneeling Man (FtC) wouldn't be able to respond if you had knelt Maester Wendamyr to save a character for example. More on, wouldnt be able to respond for declaring challanges with a 2-strength character. When triggering an effect you should always look the whole thing together.
That is actually incorrect. Note that the Inn doesn't say "after a character is knelt by a triggered effect." It just says after it is knelt. It is a long standing ruling that anything that looks at a triggered effect don't look at the costs unless specifically stated, like with Paper Shield (QoD) and He Calls It Thinking (PotS). The reason being is that the card isn't being discarded as a result of the triggered effect. It is part of the cause, not the effect. If you still have questions about how these two cards interact, I suggest emailing FFG by using the "Contact Us" link at the bottom of each page on their site.
The FAQ shows us this rule with Influence as an example:

"(3.2) Paying a Cost vs. Triggering an Effect
Certain cards refer to 'kneel 1 influence to...' or 'pay 1 influence to...' In both cases, this is considered paying a cost.
Paying a cost with influence is not considered triggering an effect."

I guess you could try and argue that influence cost is the only cost that doesn't count as triggering an effect, but I doubt anyone would listen to that argument. The FAQ is essentially saying, "A cost is not a triggered effect."
I salute you good lords, I am convinced
    • Phill likes this
Wait. Did someone just become convinced of something on the Internet?! *GASP*
    • baltar05 likes this
Will this work with Theon Greyjoy (WLL)?
No because his ability is passive. Only triggered effects will work with corpse lake, so something that starts with a bold word like "response" or "any phase" or "challenges" etc etc
Ye. It's pretty annoying how AGoT And Magic the Gathering uses different wordnings sometimes :)
I think that just due to the nature of them using vastly different timing structures that it is bound to happen. It's certainly confusing for people coming from one to another, but a necessary evil I think.
In many cases that is true, I agree. But in this case, I doubt it, because it's just the terms that change. The different terms for different abilities in AGoT compared to MTG are:

Passive ability = Static ability
Triggered ability = Passive ability
Activated ability = Triggered ability

AGoT kinda lowers the level a notch from what MTG calls the different abilities. Got me incredibly confused at first in how some abilities work :P