Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Spy in Their Midst

Spy in Their Midst

Spy in Their Midst

Type: Event House: Neutral
Game Text:
Any phase: Play if you have lost an Intrigue challenge this phase. Pay 1 gold to put Spy in Their Midst into play from your hand as a character with 3 STR, a Intrigue icon, stealth, and renown.
Number: 116 Set: SA
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: Katherine Dinger
Recent Decks: Winterfell Defense/Army
lanni - dark wings,dark words
Winter Intrigue
House of Axeman
Stark Army Rush


Aug 27 2012 05:24 AM
This card seems inherently dumb unless you're running something like Knights of Harrenhal to make sure it doesn't get discarded from the Intrigue challenge you lost.
Aug 27 2012 06:15 AM
You can also lose as an attacker and still trigger this.
Aug 28 2012 01:09 AM

You can also lose as an attacker and still trigger this.

Ah, sure, okay. Still pretty poor, though, imo.
If this is in play as a character and gets killed for claim or deadly or what have you, it goes to the dead pile, yeah?
No, it goes in the discard.
From FAQ:

If for any reason, a non-character card that is functioning as a character is killed, said card is placed in the discard pile instead. Effects that trigger from said card being killed may still apply.

I thought the Reinforcements cards were pretty good since they're essentially 1 for 3 monocons with stealth and renown. Spy in their Midst in particular is really good with Lady Genna (CbtC) since you can take a half-hearted stab and then toss out the spy for a harder hit.


Are these guys (and gals) shunned because of the need to lose challenges or the potential to be canceld?

They're not setup-friendly either

Very good in DWDW decks though. I use this one in my Stark deck.