Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Dragon Egg



Dragon Egg

Dragon Egg



Type: Attachment House: Targaryen
Cost:1
Game Text:
Item.
House Targaryen only.
Attach to a card controlled by an opponent. [Targaryen] cards of the attached card's type in your hand gain ambush during the challenges phase.
Number: 74 Set: AHM
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Gabrielle Portal
Recent Decks: Dothraki on Aegon's Hill
Illyrio's Gifts
dragon burning umbush
Targwaryen
Daenerys' Dragons


21 Comments

Just amazing. The synergies available through this card are mind-boggling. Thinking of new deck strategies as I type. Zero cost cards ambush in for nothing!! Insanity... I like it!
    • Allen and Lexar like this
There will be somepoint in this game when this card will make a very sick combo with some card, I'm sure it will happen eventually
Comining this with zero cost characters like doulos2k mentioned, along with Magister Illyrio (VM) for extreme amounts of burn!

It also gets round Limited, allowing you to Ambush out all of your limited locations in the challenge phase, preventing them from clogging your hand.
    • Darksbane, Lexar and Grimwalker like this
Good ol' surprise-Dragon Bite (AE) is back!

edit: can somebody help me out here http://www.cardgamed...f-the-wolf-acos ? :D
    • Allen likes this
@theCrow - indeed! Your opponent has to have an attachment in play, of course... but oh so sweet that would be!! Combine this with
Griff (CD) (once his text is fixed) and it gets crazy.
    • Xenoce likes this

Comining this with zero cost characters like doulos2k mentioned, along with Magister Illyrio (VM) for extreme amounts of burn!

It also gets round Limited, allowing you to Ambush out all of your limited locations in the challenge phase, preventing them from clogging your hand.


aw **** son, this might be worth it all by itself. I might start running Great Pyramid (Core) again.
Disgruntled Mercenary can get back onto the board again after being bounced. With new Illyrio in play he can even burn for 2 during the challenges phase then. 3 with The First Snow of Winter ;D
A lot of potential for this card!
Potential for fun at least... I doubt it's gonna be competitively viable because of it's extreme vulnerability being both an attachment AND having to be put onto an enemy card. I'd prefer it as a 2 or maybe even 3 cost location.
Just amazing, I'd like to have my opponents playing some attachments... It would be nice to put Tears of Lys (AToT) during an intrigue challenge :D :D But there's a number of cards that combine very well with this one!!
One question... if my opponent has a location such as the different chambers (Aeron's Chambers (KotS), etc.)
attached to his/her house card that would be considered an attachment, could I attacht the dragon egg to that Location-attachment? I think I could because I assume that that card (the location-attachment) is controlled by my opponent but I'm not sure; if yes, wich of my cards would gain ambush? Locations or attachments? I'd bet they will be the attachments but...
You can attach it to those attachments just fine. Since it was considered an attachment currently it would only affect your attachments.
    • Lexar likes this
What about shadow cards? Would you be able to ambush them directly into play with this?
Yes, although there's very few targaryen shadows cards you'd ever want to do that with since they all have "comes out of the shadows" effects. Also, you have to kneel their printed gold cost in influence, so that includes the 2 you'd spend to put them in the shadows.

Comining this with zero cost characters like doulos2k mentioned, along with Magister Illyrio (VM) for extreme amounts of burn!

It also gets round Limited, allowing you to Ambush out all of your limited locations in the challenge phase, preventing them from clogging your hand.


I'm not sure i'm clear on how this works, someone tell me if i'm on the right track, but the reason you're able to get around the 'Limited' keyword is because 'Ambush' allows the locations to be used as ''Any Phase" responses and not being 'played' from your hand?
The text of the rulebook with regard to limited says that "You may play only one card (of any type) with
the “Limited” keyword per round." The FAQ defines the term "play" (vs. "put into play", which is what ambushing does) as such:
(4.4) "Play" and "Put into Play"
Character, Location, and Attachment cards are
“played” from the hand during the marshalling
phase, by taking a player action and paying
their gold cost.
Event cards are “played” by placing the card
on the table, paying the specified cost, and
triggering the effect.
"Put into play" effects are not considered to be
"played." Similarly, when a card is "put into
play," it does not trigger any "when played"
effects, and vice versa. Both, however, would
trigger effects that occur when a card "comes
into play” or “enters play.”
"Put into Play" is a game mechanic that
bypasses all costs (including all gold penalties)
and play restrictions.
Thus ambushing in a limited card would "put into play" that card, bypassing the game's normal restrictions for limited keyworded cards.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jan 16 2013 02:24 PM

''Any Phase" responses


Just a qualm on terminology. Any Phase actions and Responses are completely different and have completely different places in the timing chart where they can be used.

Ignore me if you are already familiar with the terms, I just think it's important to be sure.

Any Phase (or the name of the phase) abilities are considered Player Actions, which opens the Player Action Window. Responses are used during Framework or Player Action windows. Furthermore, if a Response has the words "save" or "cancel" in them, they are only used during Step 2 of a window. If they don't have those words, they are only used during Step 5 of a window.
pop this on Beric Dondarrion (IG) and you can just start the Benny Hill music for the rest of the game, I'm here to tell you.

This will be great with Crown of Meereen (QoD) to switch the attachment between different types of cards to have some flexibility during Challenge phase. Even better if you attached it to a location before the Military challenge so the opponent cannot kill the the character it is attached to for claim.  

Hi folks,
 
Could you please clarify, if it's common case to attache Dragon Egg directly to the attachment. I've never faced such behavior befor, so I was a little bit confused, if attachment can be attached to the attachment.

 

Hi folks,
 
Could you please clarify, if it's common case to attache Dragon Egg directly to the attachment. I've never faced such behavior befor, so I was a little bit confused, if attachment can be attached to the attachment.

 

 

Normally attachments can only be attached to characters. However, attachments can expand or narrow the list of cards they can attach to through their own text, like this one. Since it says "attach to a card controlled by an opponent" it can be attached to an attachment, a location, a character, or even an event card (although there are only a few ways event cards can be in play - like through the effect of Doran's Game (GotC) - and it wouldn't be of any use to pick an event card anyway).

 

Putting Dragon Egg on an opponent's attachment is pretty common, actually, since Targaryens have a lot of great attachments and giving them all Ambush makes them even better. It works particularly well with cost 0 attachments like Bloody Arakh (TBiC), Daenerys' Favor (FF), Dragon Bite (AE), and Dragon Fear (QoD).