Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Dragon Egg
Submitted
Darksbane
, Aug 02 2012 06:34 PM | Last updated Aug 20 2012 03:54 PM
Dragon EggType: Attachment House: Targaryen Cost:1 Game Text: Item. House Targaryen only. Attach to a card controlled by an opponent. [Targaryen] cards of the attached card's type in your hand gain ambush during the challenges phase. Number: 74 Set: AHM Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Gabrielle Portal |
|
| Recent Decks: |
Dothraki on Aegon's Hill Illyrio's Gifts dragon burning umbush Targwaryen Daenerys' Dragons |



Sign In
Create Account










21 Comments
It also gets round Limited, allowing you to Ambush out all of your limited locations in the challenge phase, preventing them from clogging your hand.
edit: can somebody help me out here http://www.cardgamed...f-the-wolf-acos ?
Griff (CD) (once his text is fixed) and it gets crazy.
aw **** son, this might be worth it all by itself. I might start running Great Pyramid (Core) again.
attached to his/her house card that would be considered an attachment, could I attacht the dragon egg to that Location-attachment? I think I could because I assume that that card (the location-attachment) is controlled by my opponent but I'm not sure; if yes, wich of my cards would gain ambush? Locations or attachments? I'd bet they will be the attachments but...
I'm not sure i'm clear on how this works, someone tell me if i'm on the right track, but the reason you're able to get around the 'Limited' keyword is because 'Ambush' allows the locations to be used as ''Any Phase" responses and not being 'played' from your hand?
the “Limited†keyword per round." The FAQ defines the term "play" (vs. "put into play", which is what ambushing does) as such:
(4.4) "Play" and "Put into Play"
Character, Location, and Attachment cards are
“played†from the hand during the marshalling
phase, by taking a player action and paying
their gold cost.
Event cards are “played†by placing the card
on the table, paying the specified cost, and
triggering the effect.
"Put into play" effects are not considered to be
"played." Similarly, when a card is "put into
play," it does not trigger any "when played"
effects, and vice versa. Both, however, would
trigger effects that occur when a card "comes
into play†or “enters play.â€
"Put into Play" is a game mechanic that
bypasses all costs (including all gold penalties)
and play restrictions.
Thus ambushing in a limited card would "put into play" that card, bypassing the game's normal restrictions for limited keyworded cards.
Just a qualm on terminology. Any Phase actions and Responses are completely different and have completely different places in the timing chart where they can be used.
Ignore me if you are already familiar with the terms, I just think it's important to be sure.
Any Phase (or the name of the phase) abilities are considered Player Actions, which opens the Player Action Window. Responses are used during Framework or Player Action windows. Furthermore, if a Response has the words "save" or "cancel" in them, they are only used during Step 2 of a window. If they don't have those words, they are only used during Step 5 of a window.
This will be great with Crown of Meereen (QoD) to switch the attachment between different types of cards to have some flexibility during Challenge phase. Even better if you attached it to a location before the Military challenge so the opponent cannot kill the the character it is attached to for claim.
Normally attachments can only be attached to characters. However, attachments can expand or narrow the list of cards they can attach to through their own text, like this one. Since it says "attach to a card controlled by an opponent" it can be attached to an attachment, a location, a character, or even an event card (although there are only a few ways event cards can be in play - like through the effect of Doran's Game (GotC) - and it wouldn't be of any use to pick an event card anyway).
Putting Dragon Egg on an opponent's attachment is pretty common, actually, since Targaryens have a lot of great attachments and giving them all Ambush makes them even better. It works particularly well with cost 0 attachments like Bloody Arakh (TBiC), Daenerys' Favor (FF), Dragon Bite (AE), and Dragon Fear (QoD).