Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Griff



Griff

Unique Griff



Type: Character House: Targaryen
Cost: 3 Strength: 3 Icons: Military,Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
Errata
Knight. Lord.
House Targaryen only.

If Griff would be killed, instead attach him to your House Card as your only agenda with the text: "If you control fewer attachments than each opponent, unattach Griff and return him to play.
Response: After a [Targaryen] attachment you control is discarded from play, kneel 1 influence to return it to your hand."
Crest: Noble
Number: 57 Set: CD
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Emile Denis
Recent Decks: Targaryen Dragons AMBUSH
Targ KotHH MegaBurn
Targ Attachments
Kingsguard targ
Shadow Guard of King's Landing v1.2


66 Comments

So is Griff's ability considered a save ability that is poorly worded (including not using the word save) or is it a moribund replacement effect? I'm guessing the latter, which leads to my next question: Can you use moribund replacement responses on cards used to pay costs? I know passive ones can be used (Darkstar) but not sure about Responses.

I was thinking of using Griff and Pentos (EB) in an attachment and influence heavy deck to essentially get: 'kneel 1 influence to save a character.'

Also worth considering: Griff + Dragon Egg + Bones of a Child

Photo
slothgodfather
Sep 12 2014 05:24 PM

Either way, it is missing "save" or "instead" to give us the best indication of what the ability is, but I'm pretty sure it is considered to be a replacement effect, so it could work with the 'discard for cost' effect attachments.  I'm not 100% and don't have time to search for rules atm.  

So if I have agenda Griff goes to dead pile.Right?

So if I have agenda Griff goes to dead pile.Right?

 

Right.

Can you please explain me why.I can't find it in the rules.
Photo
PatrickHaynes
Dec 09 2014 11:39 PM

Because the text says "attach him to you house card as your only agenda" the effect attempts the resolve, but can't because you already have an agenda so he can't become your only agenda. After the effect fails to complete he returns to his previous state moribund:dead pile and is placed accordingly.

Because the text says "attach him to you house card as your only agenda" the effect attempts the resolve, but can't because you already have an agenda so he can't become your only agenda. After the effect fails to complete he returns to his previous state moribund:dead pile and is placed accordingly.

Don't you think that "attach him to you house card as your only agenda" means that now He is your only agenda?And non char agenda just don't working.

Photo
slothgodfather
Dec 10 2014 03:45 PM

That just seems like wishful thinking honestly, though it has been common confusion since the day the char-gendas were printed.  It doesn't say "as your only active agenda".   If you have him as an agenda and you already had an agenda, then clearly he isn't your only agenda.  Therefore, he cannot become one if you already have one.  Check out page 14 of the FAQ, found here, particularly, section (4.20) Character Agendas 

    • theamazingmrg likes this
Photo
theamazingmrg
Dec 10 2014 03:52 PM

What sloth said.  If Griff was your agenda along with Heir to the Iron Throne, then you would have two agendas.  Even if one of them didn't work. Griff can't attach as your only agenda if you already have one, because he wouldn't be the only one.  It's that simple.

Got it.Thanks

What if Griff is already attached as agenda can i play another copy?If I can,what should happen if he would be returned from agenda state or killed again?

You can play another copy because there is no other copy of the unique card that you own in play or in your dead pile.

If that second copy is killed, then it cannot become your "only" agenda -- since you already have an agenda -- so it just goes to the dead pile. This will stop the copy you have as an agenda from returning to play.

And what about unattach Griff as dupe?If the conditions were met of course.

Yes. Assuming there is no copy in your dead pile, if there is a character copy in play and the Agenda copy has to reenter play, it will become a dupe on the character copy already in play.

Clear,thank you)