Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Son of the Mist



Son of the Mist

Son of the Mist



Type: Character House: Lannister
Cost: 2 Strength: 2 Icons: Military
Game Text:
Clansman.
Response: After a player plays the last card from his or her hand, kneel a Clansman character to have Son of the Mist claim 1 power.
Flavor Text: The mountain clans were lawless brigands, descending from the heights to rob and kill and melting away like snow.
Number: 63 Set: ASoSilence
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Igor Kieryluk
Recent Decks: The Clans go on Holiday
TLV Clansman v3
Clansman Melee
Clansman
Clansmen - Melee v2


10 Comments

If I had three clansmen in play and I just discarded the last card from my hand, could I trigger this response three times by kneeling each of the clansmen and claim 3 power for Son of the Mist, or is there some rule preventing me from triggering a response multiple times as a response to the same action?
You can !
You cannot, due to the one Response per trigger rule. What would allow the trigger to occur is a player discarding the last card in their hand. That would then allow this card to use it's Response.

If you had multiples of this card in play, each could trigger their Response once, but one could not trigger the Response three times if you happened to have three Clansman characters in play.
If I make the player discard the last card is it same as playing the last card? Just pushing my luck lol.
Photo
slothgodfather
Sep 14 2013 01:04 PM
"discard" is not "play". Only "play" is "play" which could be playing their last card in marshalling or when playing an event from hand.
one idea, if have 3x son of mist in play and i play the last card do i kneel them all trigger each of them and get 9 pwr ?
imo when you have 3 of them and you trigger one... all 3 get 1 pwr each beacause they have the same name...its a longshot crazy idea .. but 9 pwr in one framework seems irresistible to not try it :)
There is a rule, you can find either in the rulebook or in FAQ (probably the latter, that's where the most of the rules sit), about self-referential abilities. It basically says, that if a card mentions its own name in its text box, it refers only to this particular copy of the card.
Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 25 2013 02:57 PM
What that means for your plan is when you play your last card you could kneel all 3 of them to get 3 total power (one on each).
However - just to make things crystal clear :P - if you would control Jaqen H'ghar (FtC) with Son of Mist attached to it, then each time you would trigger his gained ability, every card named Son of Mist in play would claim 1 power. That's because Jaqen would still be named Jaqen H'ghar, but he would basically have Son of Mist's text box. Note though, that Jaqen would not claim power for his ability.
Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 25 2013 04:11 PM
HAHAHA @ theCrow - indeed.