Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Many Powers Long Asleep

Many Powers Long Asleep

Many Powers Long Asleep

Type: Plot House: Neutral
Income:3 Initiative: 5 Claim: 1
Game Text:

When revealed, put a Holy character into play from your dead pile.
Number: 40 Set: RoR
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Skysoul Visual Art Studios
Recent Decks: Bara Core/Expansions/TBWB
Shadows Asshai
First Baratheon Deck
Bara shadows
House Martell - Alliance Baratheon (Joust)


Nice but tricky plot when Valar is revealed simultaneously. Can anyone please clarify this: Mel (core set) is in play and both of these plots are revealed. is she eligible to come back into play from the dead pile as nothing happened? What is the correct to resolve this?
Jan 09 2015 12:52 PM

It's down to the order the first player chooses the plots to be revealed in.  The Many Powers player will (usually, barring Initiative boosts) win Initiative and choose first player.  As long as first player resolves Valar first and everything dies, then Many Powers is resolved, allowing a Holy character to come back from the dead, which can be a Mel that has just been killed by Valar.


 If Many Powers was chosen to resolve first, the dead character comes back into play, then valar kills everything, including that character.

Jan 09 2015 02:02 PM
If Valar is chosen first, any characters not saved are Moribund:Dead Pile. They are not physically moved to the Dead Pile until all When Revealed's, Passives and Responses have been resolved. So a character killed with Valar cannot be chosen as a result of the Many Powers When Revealed effect in this scenario.
    • theamazingmrg likes this

Johny is correct. The timing rules in the FAQ give the full, detailed explanation he summarized. When the two plots are revealed together, you will not be able to put any Holy characters killed by Valar into play with Many Powers... because those dead characters will not have been moved into the dead pile before Many Powers... resolves -- no matter what order the plots go in.

    • theamazingmrg and dimithrone like this
Thank you all for the enlightening answers!
Jan 09 2015 06:44 PM

Sorry, yes.  I shouldn't answer questions when tired!  Thrones' ridiculous timing structure is such that even though Valar kills all characters in play and has fully resolved before Many Powers kicks in, those characters aren't actually dead till the end of the phase.  Roll on Second edition when Moribund is banished where it belongs!

    • dimithrone likes this