Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -



Unique Melisandre

Type: Character House: Baratheon
Cost: 4 Strength: 3 Icons: Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
Lady. Asshai.
Response: After you win an I challenge in which Melisandre participated, move 1 power from any character controlled by the losing opponent to Melisandre. Then, if that was the last power on that character, kill it.
Crest: Holy
Number: 25 Set: RoR
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Katherine Dinger
Recent Decks: First Baratheon Deck
Baratheon Song Of Ice
Bara HoD Fury Asshai Recursion
Bara prayer experiment! (HOD Huntress)
Scooby doo (chars don't die = ghosts + shaggy deck ....get it? xD)


Jul 17 2012 04:24 PM
What happens with her ability verse The Red Viper (PotS), since power on characters is not immune?
I suppose he would ignore the "then" clause.
Yeah, exactly. The effect will resolve as much as possible, so in this case you can move the power, but the then part fizzles.
Jul 17 2012 06:05 PM
That's what I was thinking since his immunity doesn't protect the power on him, but at least she still can't kill him.
So what happens in case of Joffrey Baratheon (TftRK)? I'm not entirely sure, but I think that the "then effect" is not considered a triggered effect, hence he can be killed by Mel.
Sep 26 2012 08:22 PM
Tough call. I can see it being argued both ways really. However, I think it will result in the same effect as TRV and Joff just ignores the kill effect. Character abilities are definately considered triggered effects as triggered effects is the broadest sense of the term. So even though his power is not immune to this ability, he is still immune to the resulting kill effect.
You can move the power no problem, but when you get to the "then" part, it just fizzles. The ability will always resolve as much as possible, so it will resolve so much as it will take the power, but the second part always fizzles.
I'm still not convinced, as there was similar (albeit different) case in CCG and it was ruled otherwise. I'll ask at FFG forum once I get myself to create an account there :P
Is this a "terminal effect" (FAQ, page 10)? Like a burn?
Apr 27 2013 12:03 AM
It is a terminal effect. It is not, however, like burn in that it can be saved.
FAQ 4.0:

A "terminal effect" is any effect that would cause a card to become Moribund and would still cause that card to be Moribund even after the card was saved.

If it is a terminal effect, it cannot be saved... right?
Found it. It is NOT a Terminal Effect (so it can be saved with dupes, etc):