Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Daenerys Targaryen

  • Ulric and UnoEsJaqen like this

Daenerys Targaryen

Unique Daenerys Targaryen

Type: Character House: Targaryen
Cost: 3 Strength: 4 Icons: Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
FAQ v5.3: Should have the text: "House Targaryen only."
Lady. Queen.
Prized 2.
House Targaryen only.
Response: After you declare Daenerys Targaryen as an attacker, choose a character without attachments controlled by the defending player. If you win the challenge, kill that character.
Number: 76 Set: Ancestral Home
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Jake Murray
Recent Decks: No decks currently use this card.


She is riding a dragon for god's sake... give her deadly and stealth! Maybe a War Crest for her whip too.

Hmmm, this card is Boss no doubt, but not sure if it'll replace my GotC Dany... One build is for nobles, and the other very aggro/army and I like the str buff GotC Dany gives. Tempting though...

Dany + new Viserys and you have a really nasty and easy played combo :)

She is riding a dragon for god's shake... give her deadly and stealth! Maybe a War Crest for her whip too.


Because clearly her cost, strength, icons and ability weren't enough.

Jun 25 2014 03:07 AM

Jesus, as if Targ needed more kill effects.

if her attack is redirected with the crown regent how does her effect work? does she get to reapply her effect?

Jul 04 2014 06:28 AM
Yes, as the attacking player needs to re-declare the attack. Dany's ability would be triggered against. By the new attack.

if she is removed from the challenge by a card effect does her effect still take place after the challenge resolves?

I'd say yes, the effect was triggered and resolved when she was declared as an attacker.

Traitor attachment blanks this right?
Aug 21 2014 07:10 AM
Yep. And Milk of the Poppy. Worth it!
Nov 25 2014 04:28 AM
How does her timing work with Alleras? I.e. If he is chosen using her ability by a player running an agenda can one trigger his ability before he dies?

Alleras can trigger hes response from moribund state, so yes. First danny trigger her ability, chose alleras. Then dannys controler win the challenge. then claim effects, then rnown and deadly. Then start pasive effects and alleras die by dannys ability but he does not enters in dead pile yet, he becomes moribund. Then come responses and alleras can trigger hes own now. Finally the challenge framework ends and alleras go to the dead pile.

Jun 21 2015 08:53 PM
Quick question on this, is her ability compulsory despite not saying 'you may'. So if my opponent is running the Lions of the Rock Iron Throne will she always trigger on attack, and so my opponent can constantly negate her?

I'm pretty sure that since it is a Response, it is an optional triggered character ability.

And yes, your opponent can negate her with The Iron Throne.

Jun 21 2015 10:15 PM
Thanks. I know he can negate her when the ability's triggered. The question is does her ability automatically trigger as a result of declaring her as an attack, or is it an optional effect that I choose. So in short, can I attack against the LotR Iron Thronea and choose not to trigger her ability, or is she totally negated against it.

I'd say yes you can attack with her and not trigger her ability. And hopefully you have another threatening character ability that you might be able to get through because your opponent is too scared to cancel it because of Dany's ability :)

Jun 21 2015 11:45 PM
Cheers. I guess my question is more a general one of triggering responses and it seems you're right, i.e. you always choose to trigger a "Response:" ability, they don't just go off. So in this instance against the Iron Throne I could at least use her as a 4STR attacker either way.

Yes, Response effects are always optional. You don't have to trigger them. 


I'm a little confused why you are so worried about your opponent having a Lanni-Iron Throne against her and canceling the response. The response is triggered after she is already attacking, so it's not like canceling the response is going to remove her from the challenge or anything. You either don't trigger it and she is attacking, or you trigger it, they cancel the response, and she is still attacking - but they have used their Iron Throne until it stands again. 


Heck, I'd attack with her and trigger it every time just to get them to use their Iron Throne so I could trigger character abilities without worrying about it for the rest of the round.

Well if he is focused on making her non knelling attacker you need to consider if you want to Trigger or not.

Jun 22 2015 08:57 AM

Interesting. So if you have declared someone as an attacker your opponent can't kneel that character as a response to stop it attacking? I think this is where my understanding of the LCG rules blurs with Magic the Gathering's, i.e. tap/untap response timing.


So in terms of Thrones LCG overall, once a character is declared as an attacker the only way for your opponent to cancel the attack itself is anything like 'Remove character from the attack' effects?

Jun 22 2015 09:16 AM

So in terms of Thrones LCG overall, once a character is declared as an attacker the only way for your opponent to cancel the attack itself is anything like 'Remove character from the attack' effects?


Jun 22 2015 09:35 AM

Damn. Going to have to chalk at least a handful of game losses up to not understanding that rule!

Sounds like you might be making a bigger timing mistake. In this game, NOTHING is triggered until after the last thing that was triggered resolves. So a response is always going to come after whatever it is responding to is complete. With the exceptions of effects that use the words "save" and "cancel" (the only true interrupts in the game), there are no "stacks" in this game where the last thing triggered is the first thing that happens. Ever. In this case, declaring Dany as an attacker kneels her (assuming no other effects) and has her participate in the challenge. THEN, you can trigger her Response - after she is already kneeling and participating. If your opponent used the Lanni Iron Throne at this point, it would cancel her Response, but then attempt to kneel a character that was already kneeling. So that part of the effect "fizzles." I mention this all because the comment above seemed to think the timing of it all had The Iron Throne taking effect while Dany was standing (though after she had been declared). It doesn't. Dany will already be kneeling as an attacker before her Response is triggered, so Iron Throne never has the chance to kneel her. That's important for other effects like, "After a character is knelt by a card effect...." She was knelt as an attacker, not by a card effect.