Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Desert Raider



Desert Raider

Desert Raider



Type: Character House: Martell
Cost: 2 Strength: 2 Icons: Military
Game Text:
House Dayne. Ally.
House Martell only. Prized 1.
Response: After you lose a challenge, put Desert Raider into play from your dead pile. Then, choose a character and either an [Intrigue] or a [Power] icon. Until the end of the phase, the chosen character loses that icon and Desert Raider gains it.

Flavor Text: Card designed by 2012 A Game of Thrones European Melee Champion Istvan Cserdi
Number: 31 Set: TCP
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Diego Gisbert Llorens
Recent Decks: The Only Way is Orphan - Rayleigh, Essex (UK) Regional Winner 17/05/2014
A Viper in Oldtown (Melee)
martel - hod scourge v2


16 Comments

The combination of ally and prized on a card you expect to kill multiple times (if they haven't discarded it) is a major buzzkill. As champion cards go, not very exciting (though I guess the non-uniques normally don't excite).
I think triggering the response every time you lose a challenge isn't necessarily the way to go.

But if it allows you to win a free challenge then the ability is worth it - UO counters out the cost of prized and claim then puts you at an advantage.

Plus, a cheap Mil icon in Martell isn't that common.

And finally, the psychological games this card brings to the table can't be understated. If I have cards in hand I need to keep, I don't want to weaken my defences to intrigue, and the effective strength pump this provides is huge.

Also, on To the Spears! turn, three of these guys coming out of the dead pile can be nasty.
    • VonWibble likes this
Interesting point about UO power being equivalent to not using him to defend/claim.
Recursion from dead pile and icon stripping are cool, but 2 cost monocon (barring ability) Prized 1 Ally makes this a not-great card, I think. If Ally-hate killed rather than discarded allies, it'd be more resilient.

I don't think this card deserves Prized 1 or Prized at all.

Recursion from dead pile and icon stripping are cool, but 2 cost monocon (barring ability) Prized 1 Ally makes this a not-great card, I think. If Ally-hate killed rather than discarded allies, it'd be more resilient.

I don't think this card deserves Prized 1 or Prized at all.


I think you will be in for a rude awakening then. Don't take dead pile recursion so lightly. The ability is super easy to trigger and you will taking away a key icon from a key character on the opponent's side. Realistically, the only thing that can turn this guy off will be to discard him.
And with Westeros Bleeds restricted there is one less option there.

Dissension is actually going to be the big threat (with refugees returning I think this will be big) - but at least we have options to cancel it out of Martell.

I really like the idea of not triggering the ability, waiting for 3 to be killed and using them all at once to close out a game.

I think you will be in for a rude awakening then. Don't take dead pile recursion so lightly. The ability is super easy to trigger and you will taking away a key icon from a key character on the opponent's side. Realistically, the only thing that can turn this guy off will be to discard him.


I think you will be in for a rude awakening then. Don't take dead pile recursion so lightly. The ability is super easy to trigger and you will taking away a key icon from a key character on the opponent's side. Realistically, the only thing that can turn this guy off will be to discard him.


Prized 1 isn't just 1 power here though: its 1 power each time he dies.

And as VonWibble says, Dissension is going to be really common now.
Yes, and I missed that HCIT doesn't work on this event either. At least its only a 2 cost card (and 1 power) you lose - just avoid playing them when the opponent is on 14 power.

If Martell get another non unique with a similar ability I'd seriously consider Visenya's Hill OOH. Not worth it imo for just this.

Prized 1 isn't just 1 power here though: its 1 power each time he dies.

And as VonWibble says, Dissension is going to be really common now.


Right, but that seems to be a great balancing choice to make for very easy repeatable claim soak + icon removal. Cards shouldn't always be an auto-include which is probably why he has the downsides he does.
    • VonWibble likes this
Here's a question:
You want to give the Desert Raider a power icon and your opponent doesn't control any characters with power icons. The way the card is worded, you could choose an opponent's character, then choose power icon. The opponent's character you chose would lose an instance of a power icon (even though it doesn't currently have one) and the Desert Raider gains an instance of one. The key word being "choose a character and" instead of "choose a character with".
Right?
My argument would be you cant loose what you dont have, so while you could choose a character without a power icon and then choose a power icon, since that character didnt loose one the raider doesnt gain one, however its till the end of the phase so if the chosen char somehow was given a power icon it'd be lost and the raider would then gain it....

Im prob wrong though
A character can lose an instance of a challenge icon it doesn't currently have. See Orphan of the Greenblood, Viper's Rage, Prince's Wrath, etc.
You are correct that if a character without a power icon (0) lost an instance of a power icon in one phase (-1), then gained an instance of one later that phase (+1), they would still be net zero, so they wouldn't have a power icon.
The wording on the second part of Desert Raider's response is "choose a character and either an [Intrigue] or a [Power] icon. Until the end of the phase, the chosen character loses that icon and Desert Raider gains it." It doesn't specify that the chosen character has to have either an intrigue icon or a power icon. Because the text says choose a character and either a (I) or (P) icon, it is allowing the player to make two separate choices as part of the same effect. The chosen character simply loses an instance of the chosen icon, and the Desert Raider gains an instance of the same chosen icon. It kind of goes against the apparent "spirit" of the card, but unless I'm missing something, I believe that's how it works.
Sounds right now, The raider isnt getting the chosen chars icon its just loosing the chosen icon and the raider is gaining the chosen one, if it is then this card is better than i thought it is and ill need to test it.

I am relatively new to the game and don't get perfectly the moribund things and how it is managed so someone would be nice to explain.

 

If I used this card part of a "military" claim, can I trigger the response and bring it back to the board right away or do I need to lose another challenge. Would you explain the ruling as well so it help me understand the rules.

 

Thanks.

Photo
1243w565rtijhgfgdf
Sep 07 2014 06:36 AM

If you look at the flow charts in the FAQ, you can figure out most timing problems logically. 

Putting it simply, the timing of the framework action window (of which challengers are framework actions) means that Desert Raider isn't in the dead pile at the time you can use the response for losing that military challenge you choose it to die on. So you can't bring it back right away, you have to lose another challenge first.

From the flow chart (in the FAQ, page 23-ish) you can see that first the winner of the challenges is determined (i.e. win or lose) and then the challenge result is implemented (in this case military claim), in separate steps. These are both framework events. After the series of framework events are resolved, then passives resolve followed by response and moribund cards leaving play.
 

So first you lose, you then choose desert raider to die and desert raider becomes moribund:dead. At this point it's still on the board and not in the dead pile. Then you get to trigger responses, but because it's not in the dead pile yet you can't trigger this response as the condition of "...into play from your dead pile..." cannot be met. (Note however responses on moribund cards can still be triggered). Then after all the response are triggered, moribund cards leave play, meaning it enters your dead pile.