Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

The Titan's Bastard



The Titan's Bastard

Unique The Titan's Bastard



Type: Character House: Targaryen
Cost: 3 Strength: 2 Icons: Military,Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
Ally. Bastard. Mercenary.
House Targaryen only.
Response: After a card is placed in your dead pile, put The Titan's Bastard into play from your hand. Response: After a card is placed in an opponent's dead pile, return The Titan's Bastard to its owner's hand.
Number: 120 Set: Core
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: John Matson
Recent Decks: Qod Armies
Targ - Kings of Summer - 1st Place Manila Store Championship (FAQ 5.0)
Targaryen 2x Core
targ - conquest winter burn v2
Summer Burn v4


11 Comments

Can this guy escape Valar with the 2nd response?
It's not a cancel/save, so he'd be moribund before the chance to respond.
Not only that but, since all cards go to the dead pile at the same time after Valar (Step 6), then he won't be in play to activate his response after any card is placed in the dead pile.
Photo
notmysecondopinion
Jul 15 2013 04:01 PM
What happens on a turn where he is in your hand and a Valar Morghulis is played? Does he go into play and die, assuming that the First Player chooses the order in which characters enter the dead pile?
His response would happen after Valar has fully resolved, so he would be very much alive :)
Photo
notmysecondopinion
Jul 15 2013 07:55 PM
got it -- so moribund:dead happens simultaneously for all characters in play when Valar is revealed, putting him into play AFTER they all go to the dead pile, and the second part of his response doesn't kick in to bounce him back to my hand either.

got it -- so moribund:dead happens simultaneously for all characters in play when Valar is revealed, putting him into play AFTER they all go to the dead pile, and the second part of his response doesn't kick in to bounce him back to my hand either.


Since it is a response, it is optional, so you never need to put him back in hand unless you wish to.

got it -- so moribund:dead happens simultaneously for all characters in play when Valar is revealed, putting him into play AFTER they all go to the dead pile, and the second part of his response doesn't kick in to bounce him back to my hand either.

He comes into play during step 5 while the other characters are still Moribund: Dead.
Moribund cards are considered to have entered the respective out of play areas for effects such as this.
If titan's bastard is in the discard or dead pile, can i use his second response to return him to my hand ?
No. Card abilities cannot be activated from the dead or discard pile unless the card specifically says it can.
    • Adithedogg likes this
If a card is in the discard or dead pile you can't use its text. I think it would have to explicitly say you can do this on the card, and it doesn't, so it can't be done.

Edit - Wow, slow ninja'd
    • Adithedogg likes this