Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Direct Assault

Direct Assault

Direct Assault

Type: Event House: Baratheon Stark
Game Text:

House Stark or House Baratheon only.
Challenges: Choose 1 character with a Military and a Power icon that is attacking alone. For the duration of the challenge, that character gets +2 STR. If you win the challenge, instead of the normal claim effects, choose a non-unique location controlled by the losing opponent. Take control of that location.
Number: 36 Set: KotStorm
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: James Brady
Recent Decks: Bara_NCDraw v2
Stark night's watch 2nd place manchester store championships
Baratheon =)
Stark Shadow Dancing
bara - knights limited


Jul 02 2012 05:30 PM
What happens if you play this with Robert Baratheon (TGM) in a melee game? Is it you choose a non-unique location from every opponent? 3 non-uniques from the defending opponent, or just 1 non-unique from the defending opponent?
Good question! I'll have to look into this. My initial reaction is that you would get a location from everyone.
Jul 02 2012 06:15 PM
My question would be which "instead of normal claim effects" effect will superceed the other? Does attacking with RB create a lasting effect that replaces the claim, and therefore can't be changed by the event? Or are they passives and the First Player gets to determine which goes off? Because they are conflicting effects since they both can only replace "normal claim."
Yeah I missed that on Robert. So since Robert is a replacement effect as well, the first player would decide. He or She would decide which effect applied first. The one applied last would be the one that was actually applied.
Jul 02 2012 06:47 PM
Ah, I see. Thanks!
Jul 02 2012 07:02 PM
Well since each are worded that they replace "normal claim" wouldn't it be which ever one is applied first is the actual applied one and the other is negated since we are now dealing with "non-normal claim"?
Nope. It was ruled that the last effect will apply when these came out.
Does this work on a tricon or does it have to be M/P only?
It would. There is no language that would exclude a tricon character (such as "with only a Millitary and a Power icon").

Say an opponent's character (that had military and power icons) attacked alone. Could I use this on that character and then win the challenge as the defender to steal a non-unique location from the attacker?

I don't think so, because there is no claim effect as a defender.

You could play it on your opponent's attacker and boost the STR if you want, but if you win on defense, you don't get to steal a location because when the defender wins, there is no claim effect, normal or otherwise, for this card to affect.

Ok, thanks.