Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Dayne Spearman



Dayne Spearman

Dayne Spearman



Type: Character House: Martell
Cost: 1 Strength: 2 Icons: Military, Power
Game Text:
House Dayne.
House Martell only.
Response: After you lose a challenge, put Dayne Spearman into shadows to choose a character. That character loses a [Military], an [Intrigue], and a [Power] icon until the end of the phase.
Crest: Shadow
Number: 71 Set: THtW
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Mark Bulahao
Recent Decks: Icons? What icons?
Bloodthirst - No Influence - FAQ 5.0
First Martell Deck
martel - hod scourge v2
Martell Bloodthirst


9 Comments

Can you trigger his response from hand?
No. The only time you can do that is if a card specifically says you can (example: "put Dornish Spearmen into shadows from your hand"), or if it's an event card.
Thanks!
Hi all,

if I have only this "wonderful boy" and if I lose a military challenge, can I save him putting him in Shadow? And can I make the same thing with Ser Preston Greenfield (TK)?

Thx in advance for any reply
Photo
KennyKindrick
Mar 25 2014 07:13 PM
No on both.

In both cases, the trouble is that responses that trigger when a challenge ends trigger AFTER claim and passives respectively. Claim is the FIRST thing that happens after a challenge ends.

If you choose Dayne Spearman for claim, he is moribund during the response window, and as this is not a save/cancel or replacement effect, you can't trigger it to put him in shadows. Same goes for Preston, with the added caveat that his ability is actually an Any Phase:, which means that you can only trigger it during an action window anyway, which you don't have after claim until the challenges framework action resolves entirely, placing the moribund cards in their FINAL DESTINATION, if you will.
Photo
JoExcelsior20
Jul 24 2014 06:58 PM
But there is a response window before moribund cards leave play, so I don't understand your logic on the spearman. Can you make it clearer, please?
Photo
PatrickHaynes
Jul 24 2014 08:12 PM

Moribund cards can't switch destination without being saved first unless a card specifies that the destination be switched e.g. Retreat (Core). So basically if a card is already moribund to the dead pile you can't trigger another effect that would move it to hand, shadows, discard pile etc.

Photo
BaldyBeards
Jul 24 2014 09:51 PM
I think page 16 of the FaQ clears this up ( Rules Exception ) his response makes himself moribund and you cant make a card moribund if its already moribund so it just wouldn't be a legal time to trigger him.
Photo
JoExcelsior20
Jul 25 2014 09:44 AM
Oh, okay. That makes sense.