Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Frozen Outpost



Frozen Outpost



Type: Location House: Stark
Cost:2
Game Text:
Winterfell. Stronghold.
Challenges: Kneel Frozen Outpost to choose and stand 1 defending character. Until the end of the challenge, that character gets +2 STR (+4 STR instead if it is a War character).
Number: 26 Set: LoW
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Ben Zweifel
Recent Decks: The Tully's of Dorne
Stark Siege - Negotiations
Robb & Roose
Stark Black Sails
Stark SoW


16 Comments

Can you use this on a standing character?
Yes. (And due to the lack of a then there before the second portion you will even get the strength boost)
the defending character that strands is still defending even if he's no more knelt?
Correct. It's crazy good. Contrast Jhogo's Whip (OSaS), one of several cards which specify that the affected character is being removed from the challenge as well.
Photo
slothgodfather
Aug 17 2012 02:00 PM
King's Pavillion (KotStorm) will also be applied to that standing characters STR in the challenge
Could somebody explain WHY this can be used on an already standing character? It's things like this that make rule nuances in this game difficult to pick up if you're not already certain. To me, the language of "stand 1 defending character" could not be done on a character already standing since you can't "stand" something that's already stood. It's more like you pointed out that it's already standing ("hey, this guy is standing!" lol). Is there something in the official FAQ that makes this clear? Because going just on what I would've thought logically while playing, I would've decidedly incorrectly, it seems.
It's because it does not specifically say "choose a knelt defending character". The only requisite listed for your choice of character to use it on is that they be a defending character. The standing part is more like a bonus.
Photo
ShadowcatX2000
Jan 31 2013 08:14 PM
Also, I believe it is because this lacks a "then." If it read "Kneel X to stand a defending character then that character gains blah blah blah." I don't believe it would work on standing characters.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jan 31 2013 09:04 PM
I agree that it is a silly view of the card text, but the rule lawyers demand that a card expressly describe it's ability and intended target. The STR boost is only dependent upon you choosing a character, not the standing aspect. Shadowcat is right. If it had the word "Then" that would be the keyword needed to indicate the previous effect of "choose and stand" has to be successful in order to finish the sentence.
Thanks, everyone.
but then, why not a simple "if able" before or behind the standing option, that would make the card much easier to read!

Correct me if I'm wrong, but a character is considered as a defender only if she was declared as such in the appropriate framework action step. What gives room for this, maybe dumb or noob, doubt is that I'm assuming that it is not the case that being the "passive player" during the challenge phase is what constitutes your characters as defenders. Only declaring them as such does it...Right? xD I mean, a player with all her characters knelt at the moment of a challenge cannot just stand one and give her the +2 bonus.

The character needs to be defending the challenge, yes. As you say.
Photo
slothgodfather
Sep 18 2014 05:53 PM

A quick clarification - to be a defender does not only limit you to characters knelt/declared during the framework action window.  Characters with appropriate Naval icons can become defenders during a player action window.  They are then considered defenders of that challenge and you can take a player action to use FO on them to stand them and boost their STR.  You are correct in assuming this location cannot be used on a character that was knelt for any other reason other than becoming a defender.    They do have to already be currently defending a challenge to be a legal target for the ability.

 You are correct in assuming this location cannot be used on a character that was knelt for any other reason other than becoming a defender.


Though note characters eligible to defend when kneeling can use its effect. Yoren is the most likely candidate, but my favourite is to use Bound by Duty as it makes it effectively a hidden strength pump.
Photo
slothgodfather
Sep 18 2014 08:08 PM

yea, there are always exceptions with varies rules/explanations due to card abilities.