Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Doran Martell

Doran Martell

Unique Doran Martell

Type: Character House: Martell
Cost: 4 Strength: 2 Icons: Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
If a player loses a challenge as the attacker, that player must fulfill the claim of that challenge, using the Claim value on the defending player's plot card.
Crest: Noble
Number: 3 Set: PotS
Quantity: 2 Illustrator: John Matson
Recent Decks: Bloodthirst 3rd UK nats after swiss (5W1L)
Martell été
Quest To The East
Doran's Court


He could actually be kind of fun out of house in a Stark defense deck, especially with Norvos (VD). His Noble crest comes in handy for things like Guilty! (Core) as well.
I like the idea! You could add more influence to use Feigned Retreat (ASitD) (+ The Tower of Joy (TRS) possibly).
Am I correct though, that even with Doran nothing happens when the attacker loses power challenge (as he would move powers from his house to his own house)?
Jan 10 2013 05:05 PM
No, with this version of Doran you give power way. It's even worse than Red Vengeance. Page 4 of the FAQ...

(v1.4) Doran Martell
When an attacker is fulfilling the claim of a
lost (Power) challenge because of Doran Martell's
effect, the attacker must move the power from
his or her House card to the defending player's
House card.

Jan 10 2013 05:46 PM
Other than the FAQ stating that is the way things are, why is his ability different than that of RV?
Jan 11 2013 12:59 AM
RV uses the attackers claim; Doran uses the defenders claim.
I think it has to do with who's claim value is being used. With Red Vengeance (PotS), the claim effect is cancelled, and then you choose a character to satisfy it as if they lost the challenge using the attacker's claim value. With this Doran, you use the defending player's claim value. I suppose since the defender won the challenge, and the defender's claim is being used, they get to claim the power from the attacker.

Edit: emptyrepublic beat me to it! :ph34r:

If i have Doran Martell out and use RV to cancel an opponents claim does he to statisfy the defenders (my plot claim) or attackers (his plot claim) claim? I apologize if the answer is obvious but i am not sure because he would be attacker and defender at the same time.

Oct 16 2014 02:01 PM

Doran only works if someone lost as the attacker, so you can't trigger RV since you didn't lose as the defender.

Doran only works if someone lost as the attacker, so you can't trigger RV since you didn't lose as the defender.


The scenario i tried to describe was i have Doran Martell out, my opponent attacks me, wins and i use RV to cancel his claim.

If your opponent wins as the attacker then Doran's ability never comes into play. His ability activates only when a player loses a challenge as the attacker.

Might be solid in a Ghaston bounce deck, try to always win initiative and send Doran back at the start of your active challenges phase.

For some reason I've never really been a fan of Ghaston, but what you could do with it is win initiative and go second to make your opponent wary of losing as the attacker, then when you get to initiate challenges bounce him and attack with impunity.