Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Jaqen H'ghar

Jaqen H'ghar

Unique Jaqen H'ghar

Type: Character House: Neutral
Cost: 2 Strength: 0 Icons:
Game Text:
Any phase: Bring Jaqen H'ghar out of Shadows by paying the rest of his cost to choose 1 non-Army character in an opponent's dead pile that was killed this phase, and attach it to Jaqen H'ghar as a duplicate. Jaqen H'ghar gains the printed text, base STR, icons, traits and crests of that card. If that duplicate leaves play, return Jaqen H'ghar to Shadows.
Crest: Shadow
Number: 35 Set: FtC
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Christine Griffin
Recent Decks: Stark: Wolves & Arya (Final Version 60 Cards)
Stark: Wolves & Arya v3 (Final)
Dothraki Zerg
Income denial
Stark - Winter's Shadow Burn


Very interesting character. For cost of 4 we have character who get duplicate from opponent dead pile and copy all stats from it. His abilit is very powerfull but depending what opponent has in dead pile so sometimes it will be weak character for 4 gold. The good thing in this ability is that he is very difficult to be killed. After he discards duplicate to save himself he goes to the shadow immediately. The only way to get rid of him is to use burn attachment (eg. Flame-Kissed (Core)) or any ability which does not allow to save. Having treat Ally and printed 0 strenght is easy to send him to shadow however.
his ability would trigger Magister Illyrio (VM) right?
Jun 13 2012 01:55 PM
@Reager, Yes.
I want to clarify when it's said that Jaqen can trigger Illyrio, it's his coming out of Shadows and into play that triggers Illyrio and is true for any character that comes out of Shadows during the Challenges phase (including your opponent's characters).

His ability that chooses a dead character does not trigger Illyrio because Jaqen's text specifically says you're attaching it to him as a duplicate (which does not qualify as coming into play) even if Jaqen essentially takes on the characteristics of the dead character, it's still Jaqen that's in play and not the dead character.

Just figured it's easy to think you might be able to trigger Illyrio twice.
If the duplicate leaves play, it goes to the owner's pile, or the owner of Jaqen?
The card's owner's dead pile.

Cards that are put into dead/discard piles, hands or decks are always (because I say always there is probably an exception on some card, but in that case almost always) put into its owners such zone :)
Ok, I must be misunderstanding the shadows rules.

The card says it can copy a character killed this phase. But bringing a card out of shadows is the first thing in every phase. So how is it possible to copy anyone?
It is possible because you are not bringing him out during the shadows window, you are bringing him out of shadows using his Any Phase action. So you can wait until a character is killed in a given phase, and then bring him out of shadows during the next player action window (as long as you have the extra gold).
BTW, if you did choose to bring him out of shadows during a normal shadows window, he would be a STR 0 character with no icons...so in other words, don't do that ;)
Got it. Thanks!

Is the opponents character removed from the dead pile once attached to Jaqen or does the character remain "dead" even as a duplicate i.e. the Opponent cannot Play another copy of the Card?

It is no longer in the dead pile, so opponents could play a new copy of the unique. 

Hmm interesting, and if the duplicate leaves play I assume it goes to the opponents discard pile?

Correct. Once the card leaves the dead pile and becomes a dupe, it acts like any other dupe with no memory of where the card was before it became a dupe.