Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Fallen from Favor

Fallen from Favor

Fallen from Favor

Type: Plot House: Neutral
Income:4 Initiative: 6 Claim: 2
Game Text:

Castle. After this plot is placed in your used pile,choose 1 character you control, and return it to the bottom of its owner’s deck (cannot be saved).
Number: 40 Set: A Deadly Game
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Caravan Studio
Recent Decks: No decks currently use this card.


If I played Taken Captive the round before playing this plot card, would I be able to send the card I took control of from my opponent to the bottom of my opponent's deck?

No. Taken Captive says to take control of the chosen character "... until a new plot is placed in your used pile." This is a set duration where your control effect wears off, NOT a passive effect that initiates and allows the owner to re-take control of the character. So as soon as you reveal the new plot card that sends Fallen from Favor to the used pile, your control of the character ends immediately (think of how Nobles are CBK immediately when Power of Blood is revealed), and thus you do not control the character when resolving the passive for this plot.

Ok. One more quick question (I'm trying to make sure I understand the timing of Castle plots). Sticking with the above order, I play Taken Captive, then Fallen From Favor, and Valar Morghulis as my next plot. So Valar's "when revealed" effect happens before control of the character reverts?

No. (Although Valar's "when revealed" happens before Fallen From Favor sends a character to the bottom of your deck.)


The reversion of control at the end of Taken Captive's effect is NOT a separate thing that needs to be initiated and resolved. It's effect just stops being true and the person who used Taken Captive just stops controlling the character. Because of that, you don't need to figure out where it initiates and resolves in comparison to all the other effects that need to be initiated and resolved (like Fallen from Favor and Valar in this example) at that point because it stopped being true before any of those things ever initiated.

as a new player, when i read this card, i'm interpreting as being beneficial if me and another player control the same card.


so that if i control a character, that's in play by my opponent, i can return it to the bottom of the owner's deck.


i haven't found where "Castle" is a keyword in case that provides more clarification.


is this correct?



Lancebrook "newbie"

Not quite. When you choose a character, you have to put the actual card you choose (not any card with the same name) on the bottom of its owner's deck. The "owner's deck" wording simply lets you know that if you choose a character that you have swiped from your opponent earlier in the game, it is replaced in that deck, not yours.


The only way that this card becomes beneficial to you is if you have a good "after this character leaves play" effect to go with it.

cool; that also helps me with understanding

 Xaro Xoan Dados
Apr 08 2015 01:50 PM

It can also be useful to remove a character with a negative attachment when you have a dupe in hand.  Put the character on the bottom of your deck and discard the attachment.  Then play the character again in the Marshalling phase.  Not an ideal play but one to bear in mind if you play in a negative attachment-heavy meta.

    • lancebrook likes this