Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Calm Over Westeros



  • Type: Plot
  • Faction: Neutral
  • Gold: 5
  • Initiative: 3
  • Claim: 1
  • Reserve: 6
  • Summer.
  • Plot deck limit: 1.
    When Revealed: Name a challenge type. Until you reveal a new plot card, reduce the claim value on the attacking player’s revealed plot card by 1 during challenges of that type in which you are the defending player.
  • Quantity: 1
  • Number: 8
  • Illustrator: Juan Carlos Barquet
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


9 Comments

Photo
GalacticTaco
Dec 18 2015 06:43 PM

About the art on the card: is that the Eyrie?

    • avogadro likes this
Photo
PatrickHaynes
Dec 18 2015 07:29 PM

I would guess yes, it's too mountainous for it to be King's Landing and the hawk/bird is the sigil of house Arryn

    • avogadro and GalacticTaco like this
Does this reduce the claim on the chosen challenge for both players or just the opponent?

Does this reduce the claim on the chosen challenge for both players or just the opponent?

 

I was similarly confused when I was introduced to this game for the 1st time. Text on your plot card is valid only for you unless it's specified otherwise. Like in this example: Each player chooses a character...

 

Unfortunately I wasn't able to find any rules reference to this specific rule, but it is how it works. Text is specific to you as the card owner/controller unless it states otherwise.

There is nothing to be confused about, since the claim is reduced for attacking player only while you are the defending player. If you could somehow attack yourself then your claim would be reduced as well.

I believe wordsmith is referring to the fact that the RRG lacks an entry that would explicitly state that "you" in the text of abilities refers to the player triggering the ability and/or the controller of the card, not to its owner, or to each player (which could be possible, considering that When Revealed abilities are forced, thus non-optional and triggered by the game).

 

There is an entry like that in Arkham LCG, for example.

Exactly, thanks for explaining it. I remember this specific case because I myself was confused by the very same card when I started to play about a year ago. And yesterday I specifically went through RR, FAQ and even Learn to play guide but didn't find a specific rule mentioning plots. The most close one was:

A player’s revealed plot card is considered in play and interacts with the game state.

 

But it is apparent from the context of the plot cards - if it is regarding multiple players, it's always mentioned in the text of that card.

I was similarly confused when I was introduced to this game for the 1st time. Text on your plot card is valid only for you unless it's specified otherwise. Like in this example: Each player chooses a character...

 

Unfortunately I wasn't able to find any rules reference to this specific rule, but it is how it works. Text is specific to you as the card owner/controller unless it states otherwise.

Many thanks! Makes it a better card for the controller. 

Hello,

Yes, “you” (and “your”) refer to the controller, not the owner.

I’ll do my own check of the rules to make sure you’re right about this not being mentioned, and if so I’ll make a note of it for the FAQ.

Thanks!
Danny Schaefer