Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Risen from the Sea



  • Type: Event
  • Faction: Greyjoy
  • Cost: 0
  • Interrupt: When a [Greyjoy] character would be killed, save it. Then, attach Risen from the Sea to that character as a Condition attachment with the text: “Terminal. Attached character gets +1 STR.”
  • Quantity: 1
  • Number: 81
  • Illustrator: Tommy Arnold
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


8 Comments

Photo
HouseofPayne
Feb 02 2016 03:35 AM

Is there anything stopping the same character being saved 3 times with 3 copies and ending up on +3?

 

Also if a card is duped, and you chose not to use the dupe to save the character and attach Risen instead - does the duplicate get discarded?

Yes its possible , yes you can also choose to use a different save other than your dupe, the dupe is not discarded
Photo
HouseofPayne
Feb 02 2016 05:02 AM

Thanks - this card is crazy and super annoying

Photo
theamazingmrg
Feb 02 2016 01:30 PM

Don't forget that it becomes a Condition attachment so can be discarded by Maester Cressen, Confiscation and similar effects.  This will only get rid of the str boost, not the save, but it's worth remembering!

 

Usually there are far better targets for those cards, obviously, but it's certainly a possibility.

Photo
FedericoFasullo
Feb 02 2016 01:47 PM

Wait, can I play 3 times this card on a single occurrence?

Photo
daviduk2000
Feb 02 2016 02:34 PM
No you must fully resolve an event until you can play another. Unless it's and interupt to an event being played.
In this case the first risen from the sea saves the character. To the second can't be played because the character is no longer dying.
Sorry for asking a similar question again but I have had two different rulings on use of this card with duplicates. If this is played on a GJ character with a duplicate and is cancelled, then does that character die or is the duplicate discarded? Many thanks!

Sorry for asking a similar question again but I have had two different rulings on use of this card with duplicates. If this is played on a GJ character with a duplicate and is cancelled, then does that character die or is the duplicate discarded?


If the event is cancelled you can then use a duplicate to save that character or an iron mines or any other kind of save you can think of. You can even play another risen from the sea if your first is cancelled. It's always great on balon but be careful if you choose him for claim and have no other way to save him if it is cancelled