Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Wildfire Assault

  • Type: Plot
  • Faction: Neutral
  • Gold: 4
  • Initiative: 7
  • Claim: 1
  • Reserve: 6
  • Scheme. War.
  • When Revealed: Each player chooses up to 3 characters he or she controls. Kill each character not chosen (cannot be saved).
  • Quantity: 2
  • Number: 26
  • Illustrator: Tomasz Jedruszek
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the A Game of Thrones 2nd Edition Deck Builder!
Recent Decks Using This Card:


Can I intentionally choose only 2 out of 5? 

You certainly can, as it says "up to 3 characters". Can be useful with Joffrey.

I was having Benjen in mind :)


    • Cloud likes this
Is there a ruling who does the killing first?

RRG, p. 16:

"Priority of Simultaneous Resolution: If a single effect affects multiple players simultaneously, but the players must individually make choices to resolve the effect, the first player chooses first, followed by the other players in player order. Once all necessary choices have been made, the effect resolves simultaneously upon all affected entities."


So the answer to your question is that the first player chooses his 3 first, then around the table, but everything then dies at the same time.

Anyone tried running 2x in a plot deck to keep board state small?
I've been tempted out of Bara.

Haven't done it yet though.

I've done it! It's a blast. I often didn't play the second one though so the slot might be better used on something else.

I definitely cannot play without 1x, but 2x seems too much for the vast majority of situations.  Will experiment though!

I've been considering it. Haven't figured out what deck I want to play it in.

Keeping the board small works well for Theon/Balon/Asha....

I was thinking of trying 2x in a Martell deck when icon removing attachments come, keeping opponents strongest chars without icons while keeping the board size small.

3 characters he or she controls.... so that means cards in hand and cards on table (marshalled)?

Feb 15 2016 04:25 PM

No. You don't control a character unless it's in play. Only characters in play are targeted by Wildfire. Cards in your hands are not considered in play.

If that were true, you would never be able to play a unique card, as you would already "control" it.

It's part of the basic definition of "Abilities" (RRG, p.2):

"Card abilities only interact with, and can only target, cards that are in play, unless the ability text specifically refers to an out of play area or element."


The cards "in hand" are not "in play," so Wildfire doesn't interact with them.

How does this card work with Viserys? If Viserys gets killed, and the attachment I want to discard is on a character that would also get killed, do I get to discard it before it returns to hand? (non-terminal attachment of course).

Viserys triggers first, because he has 'Interrupt' and it happens before Viserys (and other targets, as all of targets are killing simultaneously)  is killed.