Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
Dunland Prowler
Submitted
Darksbane
, Apr 07 2014 01:56 AM | Last updated Apr 07 2014 01:56 AM
![]() Type: Enemy Encounter Set: The Dunland Raiders Threat Threshold: 30 Threat Strength: 1 Attack: 2 Defense: 3 Hit Points: 3 Dunland. While any player has 3 or more cards in hand, Dunland Prowler gains surge. While any player has 5 or more cards in hand, Dunland Powler gets +1 Threat. ...the wild men of the Dunland fells. -The Two Towers Set: VOI Number: 42 Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Jason Ward |
© 2011 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved. No part of this product may be reproduced without specific permission. Middle-earth, The Hobbit, The Lord of the Rings, and the characters, items, events and places therein are trademarks or registered trademarks of The Saul Zaentz Company d/b/a Middle-earth Enterprises. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All Rights Reserved to their respective owners.
7 Comments
If this card shows up during setup, will the surge trigger? The way it is written (embedded in text and unbolded), it doesn't appear as a keyword like it does on other cards.
It depends on the wording in setup. If it says to "reveal" those cards from the encounter deck - then you handle any "when reveal" and "surge" things as normal. If it just says something like "put them into play" then no, Surge does not trigger.
It says to search the encounter deck for a dunlending and add it to the staging area. So... I guess that means surge does not trigger?
EDIT: I think I'm reading too much into the way the surge keyword is written. After re-reading FAQ's and the core rules. Now I believe his surge would still trigger if he was added to the staging area during setup.
However, I believe that the rule book states that the surge keyword is an action triggered only during the quest phase. That being the case, we have interpreted that that card 's surge would not happen. Thoughts?
Surge triggers at any time when a card is revealed from the encounter deck, as per FAQ 1.01. But it has to be an effect that specifically uses the word "reveal" - see FAQ 1.22 for that. If the effect doesn't include the word "reveal", you don't resolve surge, doomed or any when revealed effects on the card.
I'm still not clear on this. The Fords of Isen setup says each player searches the deck for a different Dunlend enemy and "adds" it to the staging area. If the Prowler was one selected, would his surge trigger?
Does the setup text say to reveal that enemy? If yes, surge triggers. If not, surge doesn't trigger.