Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -




Type: ICE: Code Gate
Cost: 1
Faction: Corp Jinteki
Faction Cost: 1
The next piece of ice the Runner encounters during this run has +2 strength. Do 3 net damage unless the Runner breaks all subroutines on that piece of ice.
Strength: 4
Set: Core Number: 075 Quantity: 2
Illustrator: Ed Mattinian
Recent Decks Using This Card:
RP Jinteki
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


What happens when Femme Fatale (Core) bypasses the next encountered piece of ICE?

FAQ says:

When an effect allows the Runner to “bypass” a piece of ice, he immediately passes that ice and continues the run. Any subroutines on the ice bypassed are not broken. Bypassing prevents any unresolved conditional abilities that met their trigger condition when the ice was encountered from resolving.

But i'm not sure it also means stuff like chum's subroutine effect or not.
I could be wrong (I'm hardly an expert) but I would read this as Chum applying to the icebreaker after the one Femme Fatale bypasses. Chum reads "The next piece of ice the Runner encounters" and I would read the above FAQ as saying that if you bypass a piece of ice, it doesn't count as being "encountered." So Chum's trigger (adding 2 strength) is not met for the bypassed ice, so the next ice after that is the next one the Runner encounters. Does that make sense?
The FAQ says that "any subroutines on the ice bypassed are not broken". This implies that the ice is encountered, so Chum's effect triggers.

Anyway on BBG's forum there was an official answer reported:

If the Runner does not break Chum's subroutine and then bypasses the next piece of ice encountered, he or she will take the 3 net damage. Bypassing, as stated in the FAQ, does not break the ice's subroutines. Chum's effect is active once the Runner fails to break the subroutine, so the only way to prevent it is to either a) break all the subroutines on the next piece of ice encountered or B) to not encounter another piece of ice.
Let's say Chum is infront of two other unrezzed pieces of ICE on a server. If Chum is rezzed, the next piece of ICE isn't, and the final piece of ICE is, is it correct that Chum will buff the final piece of ICE even though they have an unrezzed unencountered piece of ICE inbetween them?
Mar 07 2013 09:49 PM
Mar 13 2013 12:51 AM
Love putting one of these in front of a Cell Portal....
I'd never thought of that!
Mar 31 2013 09:21 PM
quick question: runner encounters chum, does not break its subroutine, then jacks out. what happens?
thx in advance!
Mar 31 2013 09:58 PM
Nothing, he will not have encountered another piece of ice. (:
Apr 07 2013 10:08 AM
This is missing "[Subroutine]" before the actual subroutine
Aug 11 2015 06:44 PM

It didn't really matter to me yet, but for clarity: What happens first? Subroutines fire or Chum deals damage?

    • Meadbeard likes this

It didn't really matter to me yet, but for clarity: What happens first? Subroutines fire or Chum deals damage?


According to the current FAQ (v.2.1, page 6) Chum triggers once step 3.1 of the run closes or is skipped. Subroutines fire during step 3.2, so Chum goes off before the subroutines.


Great catch on this detail.

    • AdorablePython likes this
Dec 31 2015 05:37 PM

Even if the ICE behind it gets trashed (Trap/Parasite/Cutlery/etc.), it still has its purpose as a lone HQ/R&D defender - assuming your deck contains Archangel. Because if the runner accesses Archangel from HQ/R&D and didn't break Chum (why should he? There's no ICE behind it), he has a problem.

    • Meadbeard and Kitescreech like this

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.