Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * - -

Corporate Troubleshooter



Corporate Troubleshooter

Corporate Troubleshooter


Type: Upgrade: Connection
Cost: 0
Faction: Corp Haas-Bioroid
Faction Cost: 1
X [Credits], [Trash]: Choose a piece of rezzed ice protecting this server. That ice has +X strength until the end of the turn.
Trash:
Set: Core Number: 065 Quantity: 1
Illustrator: Ed Mattinian
Recent Decks Using This Card:
NEXT Foundry Kill/Program Trash
Spark Corp $/program denial
Haas-Bioroid01
Round Table
HB Brain and Drain
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


10 Comments

This card is amazing and only 1 influence. Obvious way is just stop one important run. Better use is to boost ICE with dangerous effects like force to trash a program with Rototurret. This works very good with Jinteki also and Troubleshooter makes Chum dangerous (Chum + Neural Katana is even better). I can see this card even better with expansions and more dangerous ice. Only bad thing is that this card is practically a 40$ single :P
For that price why would you buy a single? You could get a whole set of Netrunner for ~30?
Hi! Can i use the hability of this card after the runner spend credits to add attack to one of his icebreakers (in order to pass through the buffed ice) or i have to use it before the runner spend credits? Sry for my English! And Thank you

Hi! Can i use the hability of this card after the runner spend credits to add attack to one of his icebreakers (in order to pass through the buffed ice) or i have to use it before the runner spend credits? Sry for my English! And Thank you


According to the official timing structure of a run (found in the official FAQ), Corporate Troubleshooter must be rezzed in step 2.3, directly after the runner decides not to jack out. This is also when you want to use the card's ability, because the next time it could be used to pump the ICE would be after the runner breaks the ICE (step 3.1). So Corporate Troubleshooter must be used before the runner uses his Icebreakers.

According to the official timing structure of a run (found in the official FAQ), Corporate Troubleshooter must be rezzed in step 2.3, directly after the runner decides not to jack out. This is also when you want to use the card's ability, because the next time it could be used to pump the ICE would be after the runner breaks the ICE (step 3.1). So Corporate Troubleshooter must be used before the runner uses his Icebreakers.

But don't you can activate the Corporate Troubleshooter's ability after the runner add strength to the icebreaker but before he breaks subrutines? Is the runner the only player allowed to activate abilities in step 3.1? Thanks ^^

But don't you can activate the Corporate Troubleshooter's ability after the runner add strength to the icebreaker but before he breaks subrutines? Is the runner the only player allowed to activate abilities in step 3.1? Thanks ^^


The corp can use paid abilities in step 3.1, but the runner gets to use all of his first because it is the runner's turn. The abilities on Icebreakers are paid abilities, so at step 3.1, the runner can boost and break before the corp can use his corporate Troubleshooter.
    • tanker73 likes this

The corp can use paid abilities in step 3.1, but the runner gets to use all of his first because it is the runner's turn. The abilities on Icebreakers are paid abilities, so at step 3.1, the runner can boost and break before the corp can use his corporate Troubleshooter.


Thanks, that's the rule I forgot. Now, it seems obvious ^^. Enjoy the game :)
Just curious but does the paid abilities trigger have to resolve before non ice cards can be rezzed, or can those triggers happen interchangeably?
Photo
CommissarFeesh
Dec 02 2013 09:09 AM
Those happen at the same timing priority.
This card is great because it can single-handedly win you games against certain strategies. Mimic is their only sentry breaker? Boost Rototurret to 4 strength (or 4+X where X is the number of datasucker counters they have). Only costs you $4 and you can trash a key program. Same thing goes for Atman decks. You probably don't want to run more than 2 of these because they don't work very well in other matchups, but definitely worth including. If you can force the runner to Femme your 4 strength Rototurret then mission accomplished.
    • Meadbeard likes this

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.