Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -




Type: ICE: Sentry - AP
Cost: 5
Faction: Corp Jinteki
Faction Cost: 4
When the Runner encounters Komainu, it gains "[Subroutine] Do 1 net damage." for each card in the Runner's grip for the remainder of this run.
Strength: 1
Set: Honor and Profit Number: 017 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Liiga Smilshkalne
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Comparing The Net Damage
Midgame Weyland
Check out my new giraffe
Genome Tinker
HB Mandatory Upgrades
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


If a runner hits this with 3 cards in hand, breaks all 3 subroutines, and then hits a Cell Portal, will this gain another 3 subroutines for a total of 6?
    • chelobrek and Meadbeard like this
I don't see why not.
If this gets femmed by the runner is it bypassed for 0 creds?
If you femme komainu, you never actually encounter the ICE so it never has a chance to gain any subroutines.
Therefore the number of subroutines to bypass is zero, so you do bypass for zero credits.
Jul 19 2014 06:08 PM

I did a little reading, and at first thought Komainu's encounter effect would activate first (gaining subroutines), then Femme's encounter effect takes place (paying 1 credit per subroutine), but according to the rules, when the same effect would happen at the same time (this being the 'encounter' effect), the player who's turn it is has priority. So because it is a run during the runner's turn, Femme's encounter ability would activate first, allowing them to bypass for 0 credits.


Well, I guess I have to apologize to that guy if I ever remember his name (didn't consider this ruling and had them encounter Komainu before using Femme's ability). Sorry!

    • dimithrone and uPoHu4Hu9 like this
Sep 17 2014 06:46 AM

I love / hate this card. I add it to Jin decks, then I take it out, then I add it back. I love everything about what it does, but it dies so very hard and fast to Parasite.

What makes this card amazing is that it forces the runner to play in a direction that is counter-productive.

When you run against Jinteki you want to have a big hand.
Komainu makes you pay for it.


It looks like it gets useless if you run with an empty hand.

But indeed, it is the most dangerous thing you can do against Jinteki.

    • MagisterWrigley, Meadbeard, KillerShrike and 1 other like this
A newbie question here. Since net damage trashes cards from the runner's hand, does komainu instantly kill the runner if he cannot break it?
Jan 25 2015 07:06 PM

No. The runner is only flatlined when he takes more damage than Cards in his grip.

    • dimithrone likes this
Feb 11 2015 08:10 PM

Love this card. As pointed out, you want to run against Jinteki with a large hand. Players generally run with enough cards that a Snare won't kill them (3 or more). Sure, it dies to Parasite easily, but most ICE hates having a Parasite on them.


Compare paying 5 to rez for 4 net damage (theoretical damage - you want to wait for the right time to rez this) versus Snare which is 4 credits for 3 damage. The runner will have to avoid that server until they have some way to deal with it. Even with a sentry breaker, it's going to be very expensive to run this without a small hand (generally a bad idea against Jinteki). If the runner spends 2 credits to burn a Parasite after I've hit them for 4 net damage - I'm happy.

    • KillerShrike likes this

"The Twins" can make this a horror show. The first time the Runner sees Komainu is probably the last time the Runner sees Komainu. When the Runner has an empty hand, Jinteki has too many ways to make sure Parasite never happens.

This is also a great card to splash to gain that "didn't see that one coming" -moments. Once forced the runner to trash his perfect hand when he decided to check my ICE. Of course after that he just run through it with zero cards to go through my R&D, so I added couple of shocks. Yes, uses a lot of your influence but since I had everything I needed from faction, why not?

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.