Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Overmind



Overmind

Overmind


Type: Program: Icebreaker - AI
Cost: 4 Memory Units: 1
Faction: Runner Neutral
Faction Cost: 0
Place 1 power counter on Overmind when it is installed for each unused MU.
Hosted power counter: Break ice subroutine.
1 [Click]: +1 strength.
Strength: 0
Set: Honor and Profit Number: 053 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Adam S. Doyle
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Sunny memorylinks 2.0
Sunny Running
Sunny's Army
Andromeda The Librarian
Kate - "Unlimited" MU
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Android: Netrunner deckbuilder!


15 Comments

It should be
1 [Credits]: +1 strength
    • 2097, Prosworth and strathmeyer like this
I see this card more as a 'build around me' card in a lot of ways but it's certainly an interesting concept.
Photo
KillerShrike
Sep 17 2014 06:52 AM

I have a Chaos Theory recursion deck with LLDS processors and e3 breaker that uses this as its only breaker and nearly its only program (the deck packs a couple of parasites as well to kill off annoying multiple subroutine low strength ice).

 

It is a surprisingly fun deck.

Fits brilliantly into any deck using Deep Red for cheap breaking. Cheaper install and breaking makes it much more appealing than Crypsis, to me. 

    • Kitescreech likes this
Are the hosted power tokens spent when breaking subroutines? I mean, can you only use this programme once for breaking as many subroutines as many are the tokes?
Photo
AdorablePython
Feb 02 2015 11:55 PM

Yes, every subroutine you break with Overmind removes a token from it. Which means, you can only break as much subroutines with it as Tokens that lie on it.

    • dimithrone likes this
With an origami and other chips deck this could get quite powerful
Photo
Kitescreech
Jun 15 2015 10:58 PM

E3 works nicely here to save power counters.

    • Kitescreech likes this
Photo
theamazingmrg
Jun 16 2015 08:33 AM

With an origami and other chips deck this could get quite powerful

I'm not sure Origami would help unless there was a "gain MU equal to your maximum hand size" card.

I'm not sure Origami would help unless there was a "gain MU equal to your maximum hand size" card.

That is what Ekomind is for, if you don't mind holding half of your stack in hand.

Photo
AdorablePython
Jun 16 2015 11:17 AM

That would be Ekomind. Trust me, I've tested that sort of deck already. To my disappointment, it was very clunky and vulnerable.

    • Meadbeard likes this
Photo
theamazingmrg
Jun 16 2015 12:02 PM

Completely forgot about Ekomind.  With good reason!

Photo
KillerShrike
Jun 16 2015 04:09 PM

Ya. I did the Ekomind + Overmind deck as well back when Ekomind came out; some comments to that effect are on the Ekomind card page. Fun deck, but not very competitive.

Can you trash Overmind when it has not counters any longer? 

 

I have this doubt because I am not usually interested about trashing my own programs but in this case I hope I can trash it easily without using another ability or another card (to play for example another copy of Overmind from my grip and I do not want the first copy of Overmind gives me 1 counter less for my second copy). In other words, the corp can trash any ice except the architect anytime, so could the runner trash this program any time as well or not?

Photo
AdorablePython
May 19 2016 03:15 PM

Can you trash Overmind when it has not counters any longer? 

 

I have this doubt because I am not usually interested about trashing my own programs but in this case I hope I can trash it easily without using another ability or another card (to play for example another copy of Overmind from my grip and I do not want the first copy of Overmind gives me 1 counter less for my second copy). I other words, the corp can trash any ice less the architect anytime, so could the runner trash this program any time as well or not?

 

Rulebook, page 15: "The Runner can choose to trash any number of his installed programs at the beginning of an install program action."

    • Meadbeard likes this

Netrunner is a TM of R. Talsorian Games, Inc. Android is TM & ©2012 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. All rights reserved. Netrunner is licensed by Wizards of the Coast LLC. ©2012 Wizards.