Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Spirit of Rebellion

Spirit of Rebellion

Spirit of Rebellion

Type: Objective
Faction: Light Smugglers and Spies
While this objective has 2 or fewer damage on it, it gains: “Reaction: After you play a non-[Smugglers and Spies] unit, your opponent chooses and discards 1 card from his hand. (Limit once per turn.)”
Health: 5
Resources Generated: 1
Block Number: 262 - 1 of 6
Set: Allies of Necessity Number: 2080
Illustrator: Darren Tan
- - - - -   0 Scruffy Looking Nerf Herders have rated this card!
Click on a star and be the first to rate this card!
Other Cards in Block 262
Block Stats:
# Units: 2
Total Cost: 9
Average Cost: 1.8
Total Force Icons: 10
Average Force Icons: 2
Recent Decks Using This Card:


Rules Question: if the Falcon drops a non-Smugglers unit, does this trigger? Millennium Falcon (72) reads “Action: Return this unit to your hand to put a Character or Droid unit into play from your hand”. I’m thinking that it will not trigger because the unit was “put into play” and did not pay its cost to “play”. But I need clarification.
Apr 05 2018 05:47 AM
There is an additional difference beyond just the cost: if you play a card you have played the card while if you just put a card into play you have not played the card. For the specifics: The Investigation - Specifically prohibits playing the card. Other ways of the card entering play (ie Put Into Play) are not affected. Thus if you name "Yoda," then your opponent would not be able to Play Yoda, but could still put Yoda into play via some other means such as the Falcon or Yoda, You Seek Yoda. Mercenary Support w/ Bossk - Bossk's Reaction is specifically to being Played. Thus, if Bossk is put into play in some other way (including via Mercenary Support) you cannot use his Reaction. Counter example: Backstabber has a Reaction to entering play during an engagement. Thus his Reaction does not care how he came to be in play, just that he moved from an out of play location (hand, deck, discard pile) to in play. The obvious way to get the Reaction to trigger is using the Action on Backstabber to play him during an engagement. However, you could also use the Action from Escort Carrier (Action: Focus this unit to put a Fighter unit or a Precision Flying enhancement into play from your hand or discard pile.) to put Backstabber into play from your hand or discard pile, which would not have him enter already participating in the engagement (because that's not what Escort Carrier does) but would still be entering play during an engagement and thus still be able to trigger Backstabber's Reaction.

As Muddervader said, putting a unit into play is different than playing a unit. Since Falcon's action puts units into play, it can't trigger Spirit.

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.