Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Boba Fett

Boba Fett

♦ Boba Fett

Type: Unit
Cost: 4
Force Icons: 3
Icons: 1 1 1 1
Faction: Dark Scum and Villainy
Character. Bounty Hunter.
Reaction: After this unit resolves a strike, remove all focus tokens from this unit. (Limit once per phase.)
You always get what you pay for.
Health: 3
Block Number: 134 - 2 of 6
Set: Between the Shadows Number: 0666
Illustrator: Mike Capprotti
* * * * *   3 Bounty Hunting Scum have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 134
Recent Decks Using This Card:


 This card is amazing, its reaction is crazy powerful.

Aug 27 2015 03:00 PM

I'm still confused about his reaction. I understand that he can strike twice during an engagement by removing all focus tokens on him. But is it possible for Boba to come out of an engagement unfocussed? On first thought it might be an easy yes but let me explain my confusion.


The rulebook states


(Page 23): After all units participating in the engagement are exhausted (either by striking, by receiving a focus token during a tactics icon resolution, or by other card effects), the resolve strikes step is over.


(page 20 ): If a player has at least one ready participating unit, it must focus to strike.


So basically an engagement cannot end until all units involved are exhausted. And I’m assuming that reactions are resolved immediately after the trigger and that the reaction  must be resolved before a new strike, action or phase can begin.


Taking that into account, would the following scenario be correct?

  1. Boba is the last (or only) unit to strike in an engagement.
  2. His strike resolves and as a reaction to this resolution he removes all focus.
  3. But now there is still an unfocussed unit in the engagement so the engagement cannot end and Boba is forced to strike again.

So it is my understanding that it is impossible for Boba to come out of an engagement ready to strike again in a different engagement (by using his reaction at least).

Is this logic sound or am I totally missing something?


Thanks in advance

You have it right: Boba cannot use his Reaction to end an engagement unfocused. If he uses it, he must strike again within the same engagement.
    • Penh72 likes this
Aug 27 2015 08:17 PM

You have it right: Boba cannot use his Reaction to end an engagement unfocused. If he uses it, he must strike again within the same engagement.

I thought so, thanks for confirming it. I must say, I've seen a lot of people abusing the Fett in the wrong kinda way.

Red 2 is a similar deal (although it triggers when an objective is destroyed, so he could be in 2 different engagements in one turn if you blow an objective up in between the two)

Red 2 can end an engagement unfocused, if the objective he is engaged with is destroyed by unopposed damage. 

For that matter, couldn't Boba do the same as Red 2?  If Boba's first attack destroys the objective, and there are no units for him to damage, then there is nothing for him to engage, and he would remain unfocused, yes?  Thanks!

Not quite. Red 2 refreshes after an objective is destroyed; Boba refreshes immediately after he strikes. The engagement doesn't end as soon as the objective is destroyed; you still have to go through all the steps, including striking with ready units until all units are focused, even after the objective is gone. Red 2 can refresh in some circumstances because he can trigger in a step after the engagement itself is over (check for unopposed); Boba can't. 

Another question if I may?  Let's say this Boba is the first attacker in an engagement, having won Edge.  He focuses, strikes, his Reaction triggers and his focus tokens are removed.  Does he strike again immediately, before the LS player gets the chance to strike, or does the LS player get their turn first?  Thank you!

You have to respect the strike order, so LS gets to resolve a strike, and then you can strike a second time with Boba assuming he wasn't killed or locked down.

Thanks!  I thought so, and that is how I played it, just thought it was worth asking.  Thanks again!

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.