Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Chain Reaction


  • jrboogie73 likes this

Chain Reaction

Chain Reaction


Type: Event
Cost: 1
Force Icons: 3
Faction: Dark Neutral
Reaction: After a Reaction ability resolves, resolve its effect again as if you control the effect, ignoring any costs and trigger conditions. You may choose new target(s), if applicable.
For every action there is an equal and opposite overreaction.
Block Number: 126 - 6 of 6
Set: Darkness and Light Number: 632
Illustrator: Matthew Starbuck
* * * * *   1 Galactic Citizens have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 126
Recent Decks Using This Card:


15 Comments

Uses for this card in an S&V deck:

BOSSK (note you don't have to double focus him again?!?)

Zuckus

Crumb

Palace Security

Photo
CarsonFlintlock
Sep 01 2014 12:14 PM

I'm really looking forward to using this on the Aqualish Thug. 4 objective damage without ever attacking...and if Slimiest Scheme is in play, oh boy!

Photo
MasterJediAdam
Sep 17 2014 10:35 PM

Uses for this card in an S&V deck:

BOSSK (note you don't have to double focus him again?!?)

Zuckus

Crumb

Palace Security

That is correct. It states on the card that you ignore the cost and can choose a new target!

You can also bounce an opponent's reaction back on them as well, could you not?  That could be pretty game-changing. 

You can also bounce an opponent's reaction back on them as well, could you not?  That could be pretty game-changing.


Yes you could.

so many good things - snoova & booush oh yes!

    • chunkygorillas likes this
Photo
TheNameWasTaken
Jun 11 2015 08:18 AM

Can Chain Reaction repeat a reaction that has 'limit once per turn' or something similar?

Can Chain Reaction repeat a reaction that has 'limit once per turn' or something similar?

Yes, Chain Reaction does not count as Triggering the Reaction.

    • TheNameWasTaken likes this

I read somewhere on the forums somebody said they use Chain Reaction with Journey to the Swamp(I think it's called) to pull out a Krayt Dragon. But that's not legal since it's over the restricted cost, right?

 

As for the errata adding a focus token, that's a cost by definition so DS gets it for free at least, the way I understand it.

I believe thats correct.  You can only grab ice trompers, wampas, or banthas.  i'm sure we'll get some more in the future too, i'm guess that scum set with malakili spoiled will certainly have a creature theme considering his ability.

What do you think about using chain reaction on Boba Fett's or Ephan Mon' ability?

Reacion: After this unit damages a Character unit, capture that unit.

Reacion: After this unit places 2 or more focus tokens on a unit during a strike, capture that unit. (Limit once per turn.)

 

I highlighted the triggering condition with italics and the effect with bold. Since you can ignore any triggering condition with chain reaction and you may choose new targets for the effect can I just capture any other target units? From the wording I suppose I can but on the table it proved to be just too much and a bit overpowered. I'm not sure if there are any clarifications regarding this. Can somebody help?

Thanks!

Chain Reaction can't effectively copy those Reactions because they don't target anything. "That unit" can't get captured a second time and you can't choose a new target to capture because, again, the effect doesn't target.
Photo
CataractCowboy
Nov 02 2016 03:38 PM

Hi everyone!

 

Some question about that card:

 

1) Can I use it to resolve a forced reaction? I assume yes because forced reaction are just reaction that are mandatory...

 

2) If the answer to 1) is yes, can I copy the forced reaction of blacksun headhunter and target an ennemy unit to force my opponent to pay 1 scum ressource or sacrifice his unit?

 

3) Can I use it on "Masterful Manipulation" to shuffle another objective and draw another card?

 

4) Can I use it on Boba Fett's reaction (134-2) to  remove all focus tokens from another unit?

 

Thanks for your answers! :)

Hi everyone!

 

Some question about that card:

 

1) Can I use it to resolve a forced reaction? I assume yes because forced reaction are just reaction that are mandatory...

 

2) If the answer to 1) is yes, can I copy the forced reaction of blacksun headhunter and target an ennemy unit to force my opponent to pay 1 scum ressource or sacrifice his unit?

 

3) Can I use it on "Masterful Manipulation" to shuffle another objective and draw another card?

 

4) Can I use it on Boba Fett's reaction (134-2) to  remove all focus tokens from another unit?

 

Thanks for your answers! :)

1. Yes.

2. You can copy it, but the effect doesn't target so you can't move it to a different unit.  Copying it will force you to pay another resource or sacrifice the Headhunter.

3. You can use it on Masterful Manipulation, but the effect is just "draw 1 card."

4. Again, effect doesn't target so resolving it again can only be used on Boba Fett.  In general, this means you can't use it at all on Boba Fett as it won't change the board state (he'll already have 0 focus tokens).


Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.