Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!

Chewbacca



Chewbacca

♦ Chewbacca


Type: Unit
Cost: 3
Force Icons: 1
Icons: 2 2
Faction: Light Smugglers and Spies
Character. Wookiee. Smuggler.
Reaction: After this unit is dealt damage during an engagement, it deals twice that much damage to a target participating enemy unit.
"Rrrooaarrgghh!"
-Chewbacca, A New Hope

Health: 3
Block Number: 69 - 2 of 6
Set: Edge of Darkness Number: 319
Illustrator: Ryan Barger
* * * * *   7 Scruffy Looking Nerf Herders have rated this card!
Other Cards in Block 69
Recent Decks Using This Card:


44 Comments

I would say Chewbacca is just as powerful as getting a Luke out, or a Palps, or Vader. Yeah, coupled with other Smugglers events, he's even better. But Palps and Vader coupled with Sith Events and Vader's reaction is sick too. The Sith have been dominating since this game's beginning. Only now does it FINALLY feel like the LS has something to give the DS nightmares about. I think the overall craziness of the SMugglers have to offer (Chewie and Falcon included) is just what this game needs right now.

As the meta shifts, you are going to see decks built to more adequately defend against the unusual flexibility of the Smugglers and then cards like this, while still phenomenal, will be less of a wrecking ball.

But for now, let the Sith shake in their boots.
    • StormlandSpiral likes this
Question I was thinking about recently. I'm pretty sure the answer is no (not sure why but just seems like this wouldn't be allowed); but, say you have the Wookie Life Debt objective in play alongside Chewy, a Guardian of peace, and Luke and Luke is hit for 1 damage, could you transfer damage to Chewy and then transfer damage to the guardian and still activate Chewy's reaction? If this is the case, could you theoretically bounce the 1 damage back and forth between Chewy and the Guardian an infinite number of times as this amount of damage would never kill Chewy or the Guardian?

Question I was thinking about recently. I'm pretty sure the answer is no (not sure why but just seems like this wouldn't be allowed); but, say you have the Wookie Life Debt objective in play alongside Chewy, a Guardian of peace, and Luke and Luke is hit for 1 damage, could you transfer damage to Chewy and then transfer damage to the guardian and still activate Chewy's reaction? If this is the case, could you theoretically bounce the 1 damage back and forth between Chewy and the Guardian an infinite number of times as this amount of damage would never kill Chewy or the Guardian?


"After this unit is dealt damage".

There's your answer. If the guardian is blocking all damage, Chewie is recieving none, and therefore can't trigger his reaction.
    • nskaprosy likes this
I wish they really never made chewbacca bowcaster way to powerful for him. Also wish they made chewbacca a different reaction abilty because the one he has now is crazy powerful and of course thier ways to kill chewbacca but seems like most of the time dark side player suffers from him. Guess it depends what affliation your useing. and the wookiee decks suck thier pretty difficult to beat.

I wish they really never made chewbacca bowcaster way to powerful for him. Also wish they made chewbacca a different reaction abilty because the one he has now is crazy powerful and of course thier ways to kill chewbacca but seems like most of the time dark side player suffers from him. Guess it depends what affliation your useing. and the wookiee decks suck thier pretty difficult to beat.

Well the Bowcaster is in a set with limited usefullness given it depends in having weapon enhancements and those are few in Light Side decks. (Only two in S&S sets), so I guess that balances the Bowcaster.  

 

And what is a 'Wookie"-deck to you? Afaik there are only 3 sets that contain Wookies and Decoy at Dantooine combines poorly without given that you have to run S&S for "A Wookie's Journey".

 

I can think of a couple of cards that deal (handily) with Wookies without damaging them...Force Lightning, Deadly Sight..or capture cards like Bossk and Core Boba Fett. And basically everything with tactics, there is basically only one Elite Wookie... You can even use There is No Escape when things get rough :)

 

But surely I miss something ;)

Photo
KennedyHawk
Apr 09 2015 02:38 PM

Basically you just need to deal his full damage capacity to him in one blow. This way he is not longer around to trigger his reaction.

Or just deal damage to him outside of engagements which is fairly easy with Sith.

 yeah with sith but scum or imperial could be a pain still.

Basically you just need to deal his full damage capacity to him in one blow. This way he is not longer around to trigger his reaction.

That is easier said then done. How many units do you know to have 3 unit damage? Of the 7 Dark Side units that can, without modifiers, deal that much damage, 4 are from Sith sets, 1 is from a BotF challenge deck, one from an Imperial set and one from a Neutral set. So the Sith have some options, but the Imperials and Scum are a bit short-changed in this department. Sure it can be done but still, it is not straight-forward.

 

 yeah with sith but scum or imperial could be a pain still.

Capture him? If you do damage to him with Core Boba Fett for instance he becomes a captured card before his reaction can fire. Bossk can capture him on coming into play, Snoova can take him down (Wookie to Wookie) if not running the S&S affilitiation. Tactic icons can put him out of action without too much trouble because he is not elite.

Photo
TheNameWasTaken
Apr 09 2015 07:02 PM

Tactic icons can put him out of action without too much trouble because he is not elite.

 

Not really. While it makes sure Chewie doesn't get to strike himself, tactics does nothing to his reaction, which is really his big thing.

 

If you're running Sith, Hate is your friend here.

Not really. While it makes sure Chewie doesn't get to strike himself, tactics does nothing to his reaction, which is really his big thing.

 

If you're running Sith, Hate is your friend here.

You are right of course, tactics does not help against his reaction, although it does help from keeping him being assigned as an attacker or defender (if you bury him beforehand). Of course this again does not help against Let the Wookie Win during an engagement of damage redirected at him using Wookie Life Debt...

 

Sith have the tools to deal with him, but life asked about how Imperials and Scum deal with him.

Photo
TheNameWasTaken
Apr 10 2015 07:39 AM

Scum can capture him. Plenty of capture tools there. Or they can use All Out Brawl to make it far easier to kill him in one stroke.

 

Navy - well, as much as it saddens me to say it, I don't think navy has any good counters for Chewie, just like they don't really have good counters for most anything LS will use.

Photo
TaranWanderer
Apr 10 2015 02:15 PM

Navy has a couple of options. Either using a bunch of smaller units to overwhelm Chewies, or bigger units to shrug off the damage. Obviously, both of these options involve eating the damage, but I think Navy is the best able to do that.

Photo
DiscoReViVaL
Apr 22 2015 06:12 PM

Played hold-out blaster on Chewie the other night...good times good times.

    • CarsonFlintlock likes this

I see previously a question rised up with double protecting the damage. I agree that is no option because the damage is moved to Chewie and then moved to another character with protect. So Chewie is not dealt any damage.

BUT

What if Chewie is dealt damage with a "Let the wookie win" event during an engagement's action window. Then I move the damage dealt (1) from him to another wookie because Wookie life debt is out. Can Chewie trigger his ability? Technicaly it was him who the damage is dealt but the damage is moved to another unit and it was done during an engagement.

Or if the 1 damage is moved from the character (with protect) then the targeted unit is considered to have been dealt 0 damage? Does the character who protected the damage is considered to have been dealt the damage? As far as I see protect only reassing the damage dealt to another unit and moves it. If I move damage with protect no unit is considered to have been dealt damage?

Can anyone quite something related to this from a rulebook, FAQ or something?

Thank you!

If you use protect to place the damage to somewhere other than on Chewie, he has not been dealt damage and cannot trigger his Reaction.

 

FAQ, pg 6:

Damage has been successfully ‘dealt’ if it has actually
made it onto a card (units and objectives being the
most common). In order for a card to have been
‘dealt damage,’ it must have one or more damage
tokens physically placed on it. If some effect prevents,
reassigns, or moves that damage to another card, the
original card has not been ‘dealt damage.’

 

Also see pg 8 for a breakdown of the steps of the damage dealing process.

 

Edit:

Also, for clarity, the unit that takes damage using Protect is dealt that damage.  So if Chewie uses Protect to take damage during an engagement he may trigger his Reaction (even if he's not in the engagement himself).

    • jamiesolo likes this

Cheers! Thank you! Great explanation.

So yeah basicly if a damage token is placed on something during a Protect procedure that's the one who is dealt damage (if damage is split then 2 unit have been dealt damage)! Protect is more like reassinging damage and not really moving. (As far as I see from former comments moving damage like Desolation of Hoth doesn't mean dealing as well)

 

Can I ask one more clarification just to be sure?

If Chewie has shield with full HP he can reassign 3 damage to himself according to his remaining damage capacity and he won't die because of the shield and hiting back only 4 damage, right? Because only 2 damage tokens is placed on him ergo he is dealt only 2 damage, not 3.

 

Thanks for the clarification! I haven't played Chewie for ages and yesterday found this pod and made a wookie deck. I just saw the new deluxe coming out has wookies in it with shielding and sacrifice. Can't wait to play this trait more and deeper! :D

Yep, if damage is blocked by a shield it is prevented before it would be dealt, so in that case Chewie would only be dealt 2 damage. The short version of the damage process is:

 

1. Damage is assigned by some effect

2. Protect may reassign damage

3. Shields may be discarded to prevent assigned damage

4. Remaining assigned damage is placed on the card it is assigned to (dealt)

 

Of course, various cards may have Interrupts or Reactions that modify different steps of this process, but that's the general order of operations.

 

(edited to fix formatting which my iPad screwed up royally)

    • jamiesolo likes this
Photo
CataractCowboy
Nov 01 2016 12:22 AM

Star Wars and all associated elements are © 2011 Lucasfilm Ltd. & TM. All rights reserved. Fantasy Flight Games, Fantasy Flight Supply, and the FFG logo are trademarks of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.