Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Brood Chamber



Brood Chamber

Brood Chamber


Type: Support
Faction: Tyranids
Cost: 0
Signature/Loyalty:
Traits: Location.

Combat Action: Exhaust this support to give a target army unit you control a keyword (and all associated values) printed on a target enemy unit at that planet until the end of the phase.

Set: The Great Devourer Number: 45 Quantity: 3
Illustrator: Dimitri Bielak
Recent Decks Using This Card:
Want to build a deck using this card? Check out the Warhammer 40,000: Conquest Deck Builder!


42 Comments

Am I reading this right? One of my units can copy a keyword from an opponent until the end of the phase?

 

This is insane for 0? Nice Bloodletter dude, I'll take that AoE3!

I think this one works very nicely with the Savage Warrior Prime. Ideally, you want to grab AE or ranged from a unit and use it to get the damaging blow in before they do it to you!

Unfortunately, the "printed" restriction means you can't take armourbane from Aun'shi or any friends, or AE from a Gun Drone unit.

Also the timing of the effect means you can't take mobile.

.Also the timing of the effect means you can't take mobile.


Well, technically you can, but it won't do you any good ;)
    • Kitescreech likes this

Are Specializations the same as Keywords?  I assume not, but haven't seen the GD rules yet.

No, this has been covered. Specializations are Specializations. They're not keywords at all.

Ranged, Brutal, Armorbane and AE seem to be the best choices I can think of.

Photo
MisterShine
Sep 04 2015 01:04 AM
Flying also pretty good

No Attachments to drop negative ones is a good option as well!

To quote my warpack review:

 

Asklepios - 3/5
Its zero cost, with a decent effect, though control of whether you can use it or not is dependent on enemy plays, and only on the planet theyr'e at, and only printed keywords.
Useful Keywords to copy: Area Effect, Armorbane, Brutal, Flying, Immune, No Attachments, Ranged.
Useless ones to copy: Ambush, Bloodied, Limited, Mobile,
I think at this stage of the Tyranid card pool, it could well be included in some decks, but I expect it to be cut for more focused cards with time. Its no Twisted Laboratory, for sure!

 

The window for No Attachments to be useful is pretty limited though, as theres very few negative attachments in the game. Heavy Marker Drone sees play, but generally out of the oft-neglected Shadowsun, and doesn't make it into most Aun'shi decks. Suffering is in a lot of DE decks, but is more often a 2-shielder.

Most importantly though, because Brood Chamber is a support, the likelihood is that its presence on the board will stop players putting negative attachments on your units, or at least not setting it up so you can copy No Attachments.

 

Thinking on it, there's a very little space as well for Limited to be useful though its about as edge case as you can get - you might be about to win at Tarrus, and need to get your unit count down, and have a Calculated Strike in hand.

I think this one works very nicely with the Savage Warrior Prime. Ideally, you want to grab AE or ranged from a unit and use it to get the damaging blow in before they do it to you!

 

As a side note on that point, SWP is a Synapse Unit, and this card only enhances Army Units.

I was thinking SWP more as the battle enabler, letting you choose a planet your warlord doesn't want to go to, where you already have a unit and they have a unit with a keyword.

Which might seem situational, but at 0 cost I don't expect any card to deal with all issues.
Photo
MisterShine
Sep 04 2015 12:13 PM
It's also one of the few solutions nids have to the aunshi power strike. Still only with initiative but that's better than no solution at all.

Perhaps not the greatest card in the set, but it'll force some changes in your opponents play, which it can be very possible to capitalize on
It doesn't work on Aun'shi, as the armourbane is a gained ability and not printed.

If Aun'shi is using Ranged units you can with initiative get ranged and kill them first though.
Photo
MisterShine
Sep 05 2015 05:34 PM
Yeah I had just meant the ranged so you at least have a shot before you're dead.

Venom canon your own armorbane

but is it possible to copy for example the aoe2 of this one tau unit that only gets aoe2 if it has attachments? the keyword is printed on the army unit.....?

Sa'cea Broadside, you mean?

 

"This unit gains Area Effect (2) while it has 1 or more attachments."

 

No, that unit doesn't have a printed keyword on it, it has an ability that references a keyword, and which grants that keyword as a gained keyword when it triggers.

 

Don't think too literally here, its not the words being there in ink, its whether they're printed there as a keyword. Likewise, if there was a unit called "Flying Thingy", that wouldn't count as having Flying keyword printed on it, nor would a unit with a trait "Mobile Infantry" count as having a Mobile keyword printed on it. 

 

As a better example from the actual game, Bloodied Reavers don't have the Bloodied keyword printed on them

 

The specifics are important.

y...but there u mix something...i get where u want to go, but having those keywords in their name is something else then having them in their ability box... same for the eldar unique which could pay to get one of the keywords...since it doesnt say "has" but printed..thats why im curious.. if it says "has" i would more easily understand your argument, but since it says "printed" thats another story...dont you think?

Surely this wouldn't let you take "No Attachments" since it's not a keyword, but instead just text? I thought all keywords were written in Italics?

"No Attachments" is indeed a keyword. Page 9 of the Rules Reference Guide, under "Keywords".

y...but there u mix something...i get where u want to go, but having those keywords in their name is something else then having them in their ability box... same for the eldar unique which could pay to get one of the keywords...since it doesnt say "has" but printed..thats why im curious.. if it says "has" i would more easily understand your argument, but since it says "printed" thats another story...dont you think?

 

I'm sure my interpretation is correct, please feel free to ask on the rules forum for a definitive answer with a more concise explanation.

I sent an email, here is their answer:

Hello Mozes,

You are correct about the brood chamber! This card works in the literal sense. If it a keyword is printed on the opponent’s unit (even if that unit does not have that keyword for some reason) the brood chamber can give it to one of yours.

In response to your second question, yes a Tyranids player is not able to remove an infestation token from a planet.

Hope that helps!
-Brad

    • Asklepios likes this

Wow, this changes everything !!

Why i even came to this question: Im using the german version of this game and in german the used word "aufgedruckt" doesnt leave any other option then to go for the literal interpretation of this cards effect, but since im not that fluid in english, i thought maybe its meant in a different way... but luckily now we have clarification =)

 

should i screen-shot the two emails of me and this answer somewhere?

 

EDIT: nvm, found the right forum-section and put the screen there^^

Wow good catch Mozes, I would have interpreted it the opposite way - interesting 'language' issue here: I assumed that printed meant that the keyword would have to be there in a strong sense, i.e. not with just the symbols (words) representing it, but also with its full effect.

However now we know printed is to be interpreted literally: it's a bit weird to me (since in this case you could copy something that doesn't actually 'exist'), but much clearer to explain.

Thanks for sending the question and clarifying it for the community.

Photo
BaharrothsHawks
Nov 10 2015 03:32 PM
So if I had a volatile pyrovore with a dire mutation on it, and I use Brood chamber to give it No Attachments, would I lose the mutation?

Wow, thanks for sending that email off. Yet again, Brad surprises me with an interpretation I would never have considered.

 

So, just for clarity, Rokkitboyz, which has...:

 

"Each enemy unit at this planet loses the Flying keyword."

 

...would be a valid target to use Brood Chamber to gain Flying from? I presume the net result would be (-1) + (+1) for no Flying, but then with 2 Brood Chambers...

 

That's really weird!