Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Arbor Guardsman



Arbor Guardsman

Arbor Guardsman



Type: Character House: Lannister
Cost: 3 Strength: 3 Icons: Military (Naval), Power
Game Text:
House Redwyne.
Response: After you kneel a standing character using a card effect, add 2 gold to your gold pool from the treasury (Limit once per round).
Number: 81 Set: TCC
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Dleoblack
Recent Decks: lanni - conquest martel
Kingsguard V2.2
Lanni Challenge Control
Lanni HoD Tunnels
white lion


17 Comments

Great for CoS decks.
Priced right for a naval character BEFORE the ability, which ranges from OK to jaw-dropping depending on the deck.
Photo
Raithwalker
May 29 2013 03:57 PM
If you have more than one copy of this card in play, can you activate each Response once per round? Or does the limitation apply to all copies of the same card under your control?
Photo
slothgodfather
May 29 2013 05:06 PM
Similar to Long Lances (THoBaW), it is once per card.
Photo
Raithwalker
May 30 2013 01:25 AM
Great to know. I'm seeing a great combo between some Lanni hyper kneel and gold-for-rush.
Photo
Mulletcheese
May 31 2013 12:48 AM
I'm liking the gold matters theme being pushed by house redwyne.
A think the theme is a few cards short of a great build but I like the direction it's heading in.
Photo
brainsplatter87
May 31 2013 07:24 PM
Are you sure about the limit slothgodfather? Because I know that Castellan of the Rock (BoRF) is limited to once no matter how many cards are on board. Is that because it's a limited response?
Photo
slothgodfather
May 31 2013 07:39 PM
Yes Brainsplatter, the difference is that Castellan is a Limited Response, instead of a response that is limited
    • Kennon, emptyrepublic and DubiousYak like this
Photo
umbrella0academy
Jun 01 2013 04:54 PM
does kneeling him for using his naval enhancement count as a trigger?
Photo
slothgodfather
Jun 01 2013 05:45 PM
I'm not sure the naval enhancement counts as a card effect.
Photo
emptyrepublic
Jun 01 2013 07:56 PM
It's a game mechanic and not a card or triggered effect according to the FAQ. (pg. 28 v4.0)
Wow, I love this card.
Would paying a cost of kneeling a character to use their ability be good enough to trigger this ability?
For instance, could I kneel Tommen to draw a card, and then trigger the Guardsman's response to get 2 gold? Or is it like kneeling an influence to pay for something, and not considered a card effect?

Would paying a cost of kneeling a character to use their ability be good enough to trigger this ability?
For instance, could I kneel Tommen to draw a card, and then trigger the Guardsman's response to get 2 gold? Or is it like kneeling an influence to pay for something, and not considered a card effect?


According to the set review, kneeling Tommen doesn't work.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jun 05 2013 03:02 PM
Paying the cost for something is not the effect of the card. Tommen kneels as a cost, the effect of his card is to draw a card.

Paying the cost for something is not the effect of the card. Tommen kneels as a cost, the effect of his card is to draw a card.


That's what I figured, but had heard from others that it works. Thanks!
/Ignithas/ What is this set review?