Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Meraxes



Meraxes

Unique Meraxes



Type: Location House: Targaryen
Cost:2
Game Text:
House Targaryen Only.
Warship.
House Targaryen Only.
Meraxes counts as 4 STR during the dominance phase.
Dominance: Kneel Meraxes to draw 1 card. Then, each opponent who did not attack you this round draws 1 card.
Number: 91 Set: TBC
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: David Nash
Recent Decks: Targaryen War Crest Dothraki
dotrhaki v2
Dothraki Zerg
Targaryen-KotHH
Targ Mercenaries


11 Comments

My question is: Is that "4 STR" counted even if Meraxes is knelt?
I would say not as it does not say it has 4 str towards dominance only that is has 4 str during the phase. But since you kneel it after dominance is counted usually it will probably be standing.
Yes it still counts. The reason being is that it just says it counts as 4 str. The normal rules for dom say that all standing characters count their str. They don't say anything about locations. Therefore anything that the location says needs to be taken at face value. You can see that reflected in ccg cards where it says this location counts if its standing in dom.
Looking forward to trying this one out! 2 gold for card draw, incentive for others to not attack you, and +4 to dominance! Really neat.
(Spectacular artwork, too!)
I think Staton has it right here looking at the Dominance rules. They specifically say you count your standing characters strength so if it did not directly apply to the dominance count it would be redundant either way.
If the card text said something along the lines of treating Meraxes as a character with 4 STR then yeah you'd need this location standing in order to count its 4 STR during dominance. Otherwise, which is the case in this instance, it does not matter whether this card is standing or not to have Meraxes count 4 STR during dominance.
Photo
ThePrestige
Jul 28 2014 02:37 PM
Does The THEN word Mean that if I don't draw any card in dominance, My opponents can't draw neither?so They didn't attack me and cannot draw?
Photo
PatrickHaynes
Jul 28 2014 06:09 PM

Correct, if you don't trigger the effect neither you nor your opponent(s) draw any cards.

Photo
ChuckECheesemonger
Jul 29 2014 01:20 AM

Plus, remember that its a "Response:" ... YOU control whether you trigger the effect or not as the card's controller

Photo
ChuckECheesemonger
Jul 29 2014 01:22 AM

Sorry; not a "Response" but a "Dominance" action that can be triggered during a Player Action window during the Dominance phase... my bad, but you still control whether you trigger it or not