Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * - - -

Summer Encampment

Summer Encampment

Summer Encampment

Type: Location House: Targaryen
Game Text:
The East.
Any phase: If it is Summer, kneel Summer Encampment to return a character you control to its owner's hand.
Number: 120 Set: SA
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Ben Zweifel
Recent Decks: Targ Dragon burn 1.3
trag - trait maesters 1st draft
targ summer v2
Dragon Maesters


Jun 14 2014 11:51 AM

Zollo, enough said

Actually I had quite a lot of success with this with Ambush characters, effectively making any ambush character able to jump out twice. (Long Lances is a blast). 

Could you use this to save a character from being killed when it is in the Moribund state?  

I would say no, because I don't think you can change the destination of a card once it is moribund.

chem2702 is right, for exactly that reason. There's also no window to trigger Summer Encampment before a card gets made moribund because it's not a save or cancel effect.


There *are* replacement effects that can change the destination of the card but they are very specific and have text similar to: 


"if **** would be killed and/or discarded, instead...."


and then give you a new destination for the card (hand, bottom of deck, etc). 

Thanks for clearing that up for me.  I played a guy with a Dragon deck and this card in it the other day and he used it every time he had to kill a character for claim.  It seemed pretty OP if that's the way it was designed to work. 

However, could someone use this card to remove a character from a challenge?  It would reduce their strength or if it was the only character defending it would end the challenge immediately and save the card from having to be killed for claim later.  What do you guys think? 

You could remove one of *your* characters from the challenge and return it to your hand in the action window after it had been declared a defender, sure. If it was the sole defender the challenge wouldn't exactly end immediately, however - the challenge would resolve, your opponent would win unopposed and you will still have to settle claim.

Got it! Thanks again.  So what would be the use for this card?  To remove an unwanted attachment from one one of your characters in play? 

You could use it on a character that triggers its ability when it is played from your hand, or in preparation for a Valar.