Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Wildling Bard

Wildling Bard

Wildling Bard

Type: Character House: Baratheon Stark
Cost: 3 Strength: 3 Icons: Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
Wildling. Traitor.
Challenges: Before any challenges are declared, discard a card from your hand to give a [Baratheon] or [Stark] character renown until the end of the phase. (Limit 3 times per round.)
Flavor Text: He calls himself a bard. In truth he's more a pander.
Number: 45 Set: CD
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Lucas Soriano
Recent Decks: Stark Wilding Deck test
Stark Manderly
Wildings in rain
Flea Bottom Fracas TOP8 (Joust) - Bara KotHH
Asshai/Bara HOD the wall (Raise your Cups)


I like this card. Hes a bit expensive considering his effect requires cards in addition to the gold. Bara doesnt really need him, but in stark seige he is great with Northern Cavalry Flank (SA) and a creature/direwolf combo with At Night They Howl (LoW)
Combo with shadows and Blackwater Bay (TBoBB) to bypass the 2g shadows cost, or some influence armies or knights and See who is Stronger (KotStorm).
And renown for the whole phase?
The Power of Faith (KotStorm) anyone?
If I have 2 Wilding bards is the ability limited to 3 times per round or to 6?
Sep 07 2012 01:32 PM
Since it is not a "Limited Response" the limit is per card that grants the ability, so 3 per Bard in play.
    • Angarde likes this
Thanx Sloth. So if you have 2-3 of them and many cards you can win the game with one "blitzkrieg" attack:)
Sep 07 2012 04:17 PM
The cost is a little expensive, but yea, it gives some interesting options.
Hi, a little off topic but I've just noticed the "Before any challenges are declared" text on this card, which implies that usually any effect on a card with the text "Challenges" or "Any phase" can be used mid-challenge; is that so? In my meta game we've been playing that only "Response" actions can be played mid-challenge because, well, someone said so. Can I get some clarification? :)
Refer to the flow charts in the FAQ.
There are player action windows where players can take Challenges and Any Phase actions between declaring attackers and declaring stealth/defenders. And between declaring stealth/defenders and determining the winners.

Otherwise you wouldn't be able to play cards like A Gentle Prison (WotN)
OK, so bearing that in mind, I can play an event such as Nightmares (LoW) from my hand after an opponent has declared attackers? That changes our metagame greatly

The challenge phase flows as follows. FA is framework action. PA is player actions(any phase, [phase] effects). AP is Active Player. Each window is separated by numbers.. Remember that all events in a framework action window have to resolve before passives and regular responses can trigger.

1. FA: Challenges phase begins
FA: Cards can be brought out of shadows. This one is kind of weird in that bringing the card out of shadows creates a PA inside the FA window.
First Player becomes AP
2. PA
3. FA: AP declares challenge type and opponent
FA: AP kneels attackers
4. PA
5. FA: Stealth targets chosen
FA: Defending characters knelt
6. PA
7. FA: Challenge winner determined
FA: Challenge Result(claim)
FA: Unnoposed power awarded
FA: Renown awarded
----Return to 2 for next challenge. Note that this basically means that, even if there are no more challenges available, there is still a PA window before the next player becomes active player, and before the challenges phase ends.
8. FA: AP finished with challenges
FA: Next player becomes AP
----Return to 2
9. FA: Challenges Phase ends.
Aug 25 2013 03:44 PM
A good start is to check out this thread (and anything else JC posts).
    • JCWamma likes this