Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *




Type: Event House: Targaryen
Game Text:

House Targaryen only.
Challenges: Kneel 1 influence to choose a character and name a Trait. Until the end of the phase, that character gets -X STR and is killed if its STR is 0. X is the number of Targaryen characters you control with the named Trait.
Number: 15 Set: VM
Quantity: 3 Illustrator:
Recent Decks: Targaryen War Crest Dothraki
dotrhaki v2
Dothraki Zerg
Dothraki (event light)


Talk about instant x3 in every targ deck. I think a GJ choke deck will probably limit this card a lot. Overall a sick sick card, I think it has the possible chance to be restricted for world's.
Seriously amazing card. I've played it a few times now and it is just ridiculous that it only costs 1 Influence.
I'm looking forward to playing with it! Let's hope it actually is restricted good - It's about time Targ gets some real restricted options.
Jun 02 2012 03:24 PM
<3 Card
If i add character with chosen trait after incinerate was played will the target get additional -1 ?
Nope. As far as I recall, that's only checked when the event is played.
For example: a STR 3 character gets -2 STR for incinerate and his STR is lowered to 1, he participates in a challenge in which his STR is reduced to 0 for Meereen Tourney Grounds... Does he die or he stay on the board with no STR?
Feb 05 2013 02:20 PM
He dies.
    • Seriously likes this
Feb 05 2013 02:24 PM
"Until the end of the phase, that character gets -X STR and is killed if its STR is 0"

The entire effect last until the end of the phase, so if that character's STR is reduced to 0 after this event is played (or any other terminal effect is applied) then they will die.
    • Seriously likes this

Quick question, if the affected character is reduced to or below 0 str, and has a duplicate then the character dies, the duplicate is discarded.  The character still has 0 str so the actual character then dies too.   


Or is it somehow dependent on framework windows that the character might be able to survive be the phase, and thereby escape death after a duplicate is discarded?

A card being killed if its STR is 0 is an example of a "terminal effect" - which is simply a condition that causes the card to be killed/discarded, even after a save.


You are not allowed to even attempt to save a card from a "terminal effect" unless the save effect you use saves it AND removes it from the terminal state (in the one effect). For example, you could not use a save (like a dupe) against Incinerate unless that save ALSO raised its STR above 0 (for example, Risen from the Sea).


This is why Targ's "burn" theme is so powerful - it is very, very hard to save against.

    • Cumber likes this

Cool, that's how we ruled it at the time.  I just didn't have the terminology "terminal effect"!  thanks for the clarification!