Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Blockade



Blockade

Blockade



Type: Plot House: Neutral
Income:0 Initiative: 4 Claim: 1
Game Text:

The income on each opponent's revealed plot card is reduced to 0.
Number: 193 Set: Core
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: Thomas Denmark
Recent Decks: Strength of the Night
greyjoy
Income denial
Binary
gj - a song of ice 1.2


8 Comments

One of the most potentially brutal plots around, Blockade can be a key component of GJ choke decks, but can also be utilized by a variety of builds that focus on small characters or large numbers of resources from characters and locations rather than plots.
Fear of Winter (BtW) followed by Blockade (Core) followed by Rule by Decree (Core) is one nasty string of plots.
Photo
erocklawell
Oct 10 2012 07:09 PM
can a player still take gold if they have a The Roseroad (KotStorm) in play??

can a player still take gold if they have a The Roseroad (KotStorm) in play??

Yes. Blockade reduces your plot gold to 0, but not that of your other cards. Roseroads, Searoads, Temples of the Graces, Lannisport Weaponsmith, etc will still count their bonus.

Rains of Autumn (also from the Core) blocks those bonuses, but not plot gold.
I've been having fun using this in Targ KOTHH decks. Since many of my charachters are being ambushed in, I don't mind being stuck with only 2 gold.

I take it this is a persistent effect? So if I flip the plot with Bran, I get the monies and my opponents don't?

Surely you only count the money at the start of your marshalling, by which point you would have to count 0 gold as Bran is plot phase only iirc?

However, if you are first player, and then use Wheels within Wheels to flip into this after you have counted your own gold, the opponent would get 0 and you would already have the gold.

I take it this is a persistent effect? So if I flip the plot with Bran, I get the monies and my opponents don't?

 

No. There is no duration set by the card's text, so that means it is a constant effect that depends on this card being a player's active, revealed plot. If this plot is not the revealed plot when a player counts income, they count their full income.