Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * *

Khal Drogo



Khal Drogo

Unique Khal Drogo



Type: Character House: Targaryen
Cost: 4 Strength: 3 Icons: Military, Power
Game Text:
Lord. Dothraki.
House Targaryen only. Stealth.
Response: After you win a challenge, put Khal Drogo into play from your hand. At the end of the phase, return Khal Drogo to his owner's hand.
Crest: Noble
Number: 107 Set: Core
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: Tomasz Jedruszek
Recent Decks: Targaryen Dragons AMBUSH
dotrhaki v2
Targaryen-KotHH
QoD Dragons
DRAGONS and the TARGARYENS


13 Comments

awesome drogo
After a challenge has been won can you put Khal Drogo into play for free or do you have to pay his price in gold?
Free, his Response ability says to "put him into play", which bypasses the marshalling cost, etc. In general, read the cards literally, if the ability doesn't tell you to pay for it (ex: Meera Reed (TftH), Guardian Wolf (TIoR)), then it has no cost. Now, during marshalling, paying gold cost is part of the game rules and then you use the gold cost printed on the cards, but when triggering abilities to put cards into play, just use the text from that ability.
A little question here please:

If our beloved Khal is putting in the Death pile or the Discard pile ( as a Mill claim for example ) during the Phase he had come to play, is he returned to it's owner's hand ? Or does he have to be in play to trigger that part of the response ?
Photo
slothgodfather
May 24 2013 04:20 PM
The rest of his text only applies if he is still in play, so if he is dead or discarded, he would not return to hand from those out of play areas
    • Salias likes this
When I win a challenge and I can, as a response to the the challenge, draw a card and this said card is Khal Drogo: Can I put him into play or do I have to have the card in my hand when triggering this effect?
You can put him into play.
Photo
slothgodfather
Aug 13 2013 08:46 PM
The reason is you are still within the same "Step 5 Response" window that allowed you to trigger the first response.

A little question here please:

If our beloved Khal is putting in the Death pile or the Discard pile ( as a Mill claim for example ) during the Phase he had come to play, is he returned to it's owner's hand ? Or does he have to be in play to trigger that part of the response ?

Other cards go out of there way to say "if said card is still in play return to owners hand" but the khal just says to return him to your hand. So i believe that he would go back to your hand regardless. Thoughts?
Nope, he would go to the dead pile. Per Pg 10 of the FAQ:

"Example: The card Khal Drogo (CORE T107) reads "Response: After you win a challenge, put Khal Drogo into play from your hand..." Normally, actions on character cards in hand are not active, and thus may not be triggered. In this case, however, as the card specifically refers to itself and executes an effect "from your hand," it allows the effect to be triggered even if the card is out of play (this example being in your hand).

Also note that cards that return to hand only do so if they are still in play, or their game text specifically states that said card can be returned while in its out-of-play state."

Does this work with the new agenda? Put him into play and he would stay because his cost is four? 

I would say that once you've put him into play, he would not be able to return to your hand because that would be "your card effect".

 

But of course, I could be wrong.

Yes, with AAA he would stay in play. However, I would argue - would you want him to? The beauty of this Khal Drogo is that he bounces in and out of play - not being able to return him to hand reduces his effectiveness.

 

But each to their own.