Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

The Power of Blood

The Power of Blood

The Power of Blood

Type: Plot House: Neutral
Income:4 Initiative: 3 Claim: 1
Game Text:

You may have up to 2 copies of The Power of Blood in your plot deck. Noble characters cannot be killed.
Number: 194 Set: Core
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: Mark Simonetti
Recent Decks: Noble
Stark Noble Conquest Martell
The Only Way is Orphan - Rayleigh, Essex (UK) Regional Winner 17/05/2014
Lannister 60(teste)
PBtT Rush


Question. What if a noble character with duplicate is the only defending character from a military loss and the claim is 1? Does the player still discard the dup? I realize discarding the dup is a function of saving your character from being killed and he/she "cannot be killed" this turn, but taking the language of the card literally, this isn't technically killing the character. So does the dupe go?
Mar 12 2013 06:40 PM
You are attempting to kill the character, which is not possible, so there is no effect that would require the dupe to be used to save the character - because they are not in any danger of dying.
Thanks! Your response makes logical sense to me, but given the way some of these cards are supposed to be interpreted, I wanted to be sure.
Note also that military claim doesn't necessarily have to be from one that defended the challenge. Your phrasing made it seem like you thought that might be the case--you just pick any character you control.
    • Laxen and slothgodfather like this
If I have a noble character and a non noble character and my opponent wins a military challenge, am I forced to kill my non noble character? Can I instead select my noble character and say it cannot be killed?
When a card says 'cannot' it can't be selected for anything that would violate that 'cannot.' So you would be forced to kill your non-noble character.
ok thanks

The power of blood vs valar, does this make my nobles "cannot be killed" when valar happens?

That is correct. If Power of Blood said "When revealed..." then, if you were not the first player, the effect of Power of Blood would not yet have taken effect until after Valar.

Dec 22 2014 09:26 PM

... when valar happens?

It makes ALL nobles "cannot be killed" immediately upon being revealed.   Which is before any "when revealed" effects happen and lasts until that plot is changed (or the character loses their noble crest through some effect)

Dec 22 2014 11:10 PM
If the plot doesn't say "when revealed" or gave any other condition then it takes effect immediately as its revealed. So the Power of Blood is in effevtcbegore the Valar kicks in.

If Power of Blood said "When revealed..." then, if you were not the first player, the effect of Power of Blood would not yet have taken effect until after Valar.


This might read a little misleading. If Power of Blood said "When revealed..." the First Player would have the choice of whether it was activated before or after Valar (which is also, "when revealed..."), but it will either be active for all players or for none. The First Player could not choose for it to have taken effect for one player but not for another.

Yes, I made the assumption that if you had Power of Blood and you were the first player, you would choose to activate it before Valar so that you can save your nobles.