Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Tarle the Thrice-Drowned



Tarle the Thrice-Drowned

Unique Tarle the Thrice-Drowned



Type: Character House: Greyjoy
Cost: 4 Strength: 3 Icons: Intrigue, Power
Game Text:
Ironborn.
If Tarle the Thrice-Drowned has 3 power on him, discard him from play.
Response: Save Tarle the Thrice-Drowned from being killed. Then, he claims 1 power.
Crest: Holy
Number: 107 Set: RotO
Quantity: 1 Illustrator: John Moriarty
Recent Decks: Aeron & Theon
STAGS ON A BOAT!
Greyjoy Saves (no agenda)
The Holy Old Way
GJ Saves - (4-0) Store Champs--Common Ground Games, Dallas


10 Comments

If the third power on him is #15, do you win before discarding him?
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 25 2012 01:51 PM
Yep.
Sweeeet
Photo
Mulletcheese
Sep 24 2012 06:30 PM
If he gets more than 3 power by any means is he discarded or does it have to be exactly 3 power to trigger the discard?
He's errata'd in the FAQ. 3 or more, and yes, by any means.
    • jackmerridew likes this

Do you need to do anything to save him? By that I mean do you have to discard a dupe or use some other card effect to save him?

 

If not, does that mean that having two dupes on him is effectively useless?

 

Or, I guess if you really wanted to, you could save him twice using the dupes, and then after that, use the "Response" to save him another two times and gain the power?

The response is the save, you don't need to do anything else.

And you are correct, Tarle can save himself up to four times or more if you've got a way to move power off him.

Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 13 2014 05:20 PM

Actually it would be better to use his ability to get the 2 power on him and then use dupes to protect him from dying a 3rd time.   Note that if you use his ability a 3rd time and that 3rd power gets you to 15, you win before he is discarded.

Once he gets 3 power on him is he be perpetually discarded from play or can you save him from his passive effect?

The discard is terminal, just like a burn effect like "-1 STR and kill at 0." That is, if you did save him, he'd just be discarded again (because the condition that triggers the discard is still true.)

So just like a burn effect, you can only save with an effect that removes him from his terminal estate (i.e., an effect that both saves AND removes a power from him).