Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Narrow Escape


  • Butaman551 likes this

Narrow Escape

Narrow Escape



Type: Event House: Neutral
Cost:
Game Text:
Restricted

Any Phase: Put into play from their owner's dead piles or discard piles all characters that were killed or discarded this phase. Any opponent may discard his or her hand of at least 1 card to cancel this effect.
Number: 48 Set: KotStorm
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Sedone Thongvilay
Recent Decks: Bara Knight Renown
SummerClan-ister
Martell Influ
martel - conquest rush
Stannis No draw for you


37 Comments

How this works with duplicates?
What if you have a character in the dead pile from the round before and one got discarded in this phase, can you put int play the one from the discarded pile?
What if I discard a duplicate to save my character can I use this to return the duplicate right away?
No you can't. The card must have been a character at the time of leaving play, and it must be a character at the time of using the Event. So you can't get back duplicates and you can't get back cards like Jousting Steed (TTotH), even if he left play as a character.
I still don't understand this card. Your opponent (assuming he used a reset or something) just needs to discard one card from his hand to cancel? In what situation would they not cancel this? (Unless their hand is empty of course.) And during Plot, (so for
Valar Morghulis (Core) or Wildfire Assault (Core)) you'd need to play this in the pre-plot step.

Unless, by "at least one" it means all the cards in their hand, a minimum of one. If that's the case to me its very poorly worded.
Photo
slothgodfather
May 18 2012 06:55 PM
I think the wording isn't as bad as some other cards. It says any oppenent may discard their hand to cancel this effect. It also indicates that their hand must consist of at least 1 card. Such that an opponent with no cards cannot say "I discard my hand and cancel the effect."

Also, it is only played after characters are killed or discarded. It can be played during any Player Action window, but will only affect characters killed/discarded that phase. So in the plot phase, after a valar, it must be played before moving to marshalling.

During challenges, say your opponent went first and killed several of your characters. You could play this at any Player Action window to try to get your characters back before/during your turn. In this scenario it's unlikely that your oppenent would have any characters killed that phase up to the point of triggering this event.

Also, if dupes were killed/discarded within the same phase this is played then I think you would be able to put all of them into play. (However, Reager's example wouldn't work since a character was already in the dead pile from the round before, they wouldn't be able to have that character in play later)
    • libravhs likes this
Photo
TheAvenger154
Jun 22 2012 07:56 AM
I understand from the wording that, say in a joust game, both players get to have their characters back. Not only the one playing the event.

How is this so crazy beneficial after Valar? It's like it never hit the plot scene since both you and your opponent seem to be pretty well.
Probably your opponent reveals Valar because he or she needs to buy time or because you currently have the better board position - denying that reset option is very powerful.
Photo
ProfessorLust
Jun 22 2012 01:01 PM
Narrow escape when played right is a win-win for you. Win you get the better board back, win your opponent has no cards in hand.
Photo
samuellinde
Aug 06 2012 01:45 PM
If you're the last player in the challenges phase, you don't get any opportunities to play it after challenge results are implemented (i.e. claim for military etc), is that correct? That's how I interpret the flowchart in the FAQ, at least.
It doesn't matter what position player you are, you will have opportunities to play Narrow Escape.

I THINK: The only time you could not play Narrow Escape is if the last player in the Challenge phase had used all of their Challenges. Once the last player finishes their last Challenge type (and after saves and responses), then there are no more Player Action sections in the Challenge Phase flowchart. The last player would have to use all of their Challenges though, because if they only did two of the three, then there would be an opportunity to play Player Actions before the last player passed on their third Challenge type.

But I could be wrong about that part.
Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 02 2012 08:36 PM
Just an update to this card and it's timing. It's been addressed on the FFG boards that there is ALWAYS another player action before the end of the challenges phase. The reason being is the flow chart always returns back to the top following the "additional challenge opportunities" arrow to the player action window. This allows the active player the "opportunity" to make additional challenges.

The point being is the game allows for those opportunities even if that particular player doesn't have any way to initiate any additional challenges. So even if the last player's last challenge is a MIL challenge, you still have the opportunity to play Narrow Escape before the phase ends.
If that's the case then they really need to add a "Player Action" window to the flowchart because based on my particular reading, the arrow that takes you back to the top of the challenge cycle reads "Active Player's Next Challenge Opportunity" and if they've fulfilled all three challenge types, then there is no such opportunity and that arrow wouldn't exist.

Sure, it's a dirty trick. You'd have to make sure that you actually did an Intrigue and Power challenge beforehand or else your opponent could argue that you're going back to the top of the inning for the unused challenge type, even if it's declined.

Do you have a link to the FFG thread?
Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 04 2012 07:10 PM
That's the thing though, just because they have done 3 challenges doesn't meant they might not have some way of creating another challange through other card effects. So they always have that opportunity to see, whether or not the cards are on the board.

Here is a snippet from ktom: "In case you're wondering, after my 3rd challenge, we go back to that player action window to make sure that I really am out of challenge opportunities, both the "normal" ones and those that could be created by card effects."

Here is the link that it's from
http://www.fantasyfl...=4&efidt=723645
Thanks for the thread link. I still am in the position you were in on that thread...I don't see where from in the FAQ or flowcharts that Ktom derives his answer. They really need to update that in the next release. Not that I don't trust him generally, but when he holds forth on a subject I like to be able to quote "chapter & verse" so to speak just so I can improve my own rules knowledge.
Photo
slothgodfather
Nov 05 2012 02:39 PM
Honestly his stance makes sense. If you have Myrcella on the board, why shouldn't the game go back to that player action window to give you another opportunity to use them? The flowchart isn't aware of what is on the board so each player ALWAYS gets the opportunity for additional challenges, even if they are not currently available for that player. There really isn't anything that needs to be fixed within the timing chart, but I agree a clearer meaning could be conveyed in the FAQ.
it would definitely alter the game if you had to trigger your Myrcellas and Narrow Escapes and whatever Maester shenanigans were mentioned before your challenges were played out, so I think it would benefit from a clarification, but I still don't see where it's explicated that it shouldn't be that way.
What happens if characters are discarded from either the top of your deck or your hand? Are these characters also eligible to be put into play using narrow escape? It kinda looks that way, since the card doesn't say the characters need to be in play when they were discarded?

Seems strong.... what do you think?
The FAQ deals with that combo, alas:

(v2.1) Narrow Escape F48

Should read: "... that were killed or discarded
from play this phase. (Limit one per phase.)"
Oh shoot! Well thanks for clearing that up! Makes sense...
So the wording says discard their hand of at least 1 card.
Does that mean if they have a hand of 5 cards they have to discard all 5? Or 1 of the 5?
Obviously if they have 0 cards in hand they cannot cancel.

Discard or dead pile. Is this an either or? Or both?
Looking at asshai initiate played in the plot phase in which a valar was played.
They have to discard their whole hand, but they need at least 1 card in their hand to be able to do this (So all 5 in your example).

I can't answer for sure on the second question.... although I've been playing as both.
Photo
slothgodfather
Apr 27 2013 06:34 PM
" killed or discarded this phase" means both piles and for all players.
is the power on characters lost if I resume them with N.E.?
Yes, because the characters left play and were returned.
Photo
slothgodfather
Aug 23 2013 02:22 PM

is the power on characters lost if I resume them with N.E.?


As any "any phase" event, this is played during any player action window. Which means whatever kill effects will successfully resolve and all the cards have physically left play - discarding all power and attachments - before you get an opportunity to play the card.
NVM