Jump to content

Welcome to Card Game DB
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. If you already have an account, login here - otherwise create an account for free today!
* * * * -

Green Dream



Green Dream

Green Dream



Type: Event House: Neutral
Cost:
Game Text:

Dominance: If you are running a Seasons agenda, search your deck for a non-Raven card with either the word "Summer" or "Winter" in its text box, reveal it, and add it to your hand. Then, shuffle your deck.
Number: 35 Set: FaI
Quantity: 3 Illustrator: Wibben
Recent Decks: greyjoy
Income denial
gj - a song of ice 1.2
Lion's Gate
gj - limited cardpool


30 Comments

Can even search for Summer (LoW) and itself.
    • NuFenix likes this
Does flavor text count?
    • GameOfPwns, kizerman86, hop and 1 other like this
This card is pretty cool with Open Market.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 08 2013 05:25 PM

Does flavor text count?


HAHAHA. Just curious, is there a card you know of that has this?

(3.7) Card Abilities
"Card abilities" (i.e. "Character ability,"
"Location ability," or "Attachment ability")
refers to anything in a card's text box, except
for traits, keywords, and flavor text.

The above clearly indicates that a card's text box is made up for card abilities, traits, keywords and flavor text.

So I would say yes - the flavor text is part of the text box.
    • kizerman86 likes this
Of all the possible "misinterpretations" of cards lately, this may be my favorite one. I will be hiding out for a while, looking for the best way to break this card. Hahaha
The combo with
  • Galbart Glover (CbtC) or Pyre of the False Gods (KotStorm)
  • Priestess of the Pyre (ASoS) or Fairweather Followers (ASoS)
  • Son of the Mist (ASoSilence)
  • trait manipulation
isn't that hard to land.

The 2 summer priests might get errata'd to 3 times per phase.
I don't know. Looks failry complicated to pull off.

Actually, I don't think it would work, as you would already have a card in your hand by the time you would be able to trigger Son of the Mist's response. Maybe. I don't know.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 09 2013 01:02 AM
I believe you are correct Golladan. Because at the time you attempt to trigger the response (step 5) there is a card in the players hand.

I believe you are correct Golladan. Because at the time you attempt to trigger the response (step 5) there is a card in the players hand.


The text doesn't mention having no cards in hand though. It only talks about playing the last card, so having 1 or more card in hand after playing your last is (probably) irrelevant.
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 09 2013 01:33 AM
except that you actually check the condition of the response at the time you trigger it (which is how The Dreadfort (DB) can be triggered after you play Bolton Refugee (RoW), provided they are +1 from something like Winterfell Castle (Core)). From pg 25 of the FAQ:

"Qualifying characteristics of cards are checked at the time a Response effect is triggered."
There is actually significant debate and a few conflicting rulings regarding Son of the Mist. So, while Sloth is right, I think Damon ruled once that you check the condition but only that it happened, not that it exists right now. In other words, confusion reigns. People are hoping for clarity on the next FAQ.

And yes, I'm sorry I can't cite Damon. "I think Damon ruled once" is hardly ironclad logic, I grant you.
The "Damon ruled once" thing is the last post of this thread.
http://community.fan...on-of-the-mist/

But yeah, much confusion. What he said there more or less contradicts the ruling for The Dreadfort.
A little off-topic but... If a player A has The Dreadfort and wins a power challenge agaisn't The Flayed Men (5 str) with Sun Stroke attached. A steal The Flayed Men with its first response, then player B triggers Sun Stroke, could A draw 1 card with the "The Dreadfort ruling" you are talking about?

If we split the rulings between constant effects and non-constant ones, I think it all makes sense and there are no contradictions.
If the FAQ entry is saying what I think it's saying, if Sun Stroke's response was used first, then no, player A wouldn't be able to draw the card. Because "qualifying characteristics of cards are checked at the time a Response effect is triggered" and when the response is triggered the character's strength would be 1 (provided that Player B was first player and used Sun Stroke's response first).

However by Damon's ruling the answer would be yes, because The Flayed Men changed control in step 4 via its passive, before it's strength got reduced. And according to Damon "once a triggering condition has been met that effect can trigger. It does not matter if the card is affected by a later effect that changes the changes the current card state away form the one which was required. IT happened, that is all that matters."
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 09 2013 01:54 PM
Since this is no longer about the Green Dream I suggest we move this to the Questions thread... found here.
    • brunopontes likes this

HAHAHA. Just curious, is there a card you know of that has this?


In a recent article about Bara KotHH, this card was included which does include "summer" in the flavor text:
http://www.cardgamed...n-baratheon-ftc
...But searching "summer" in "all text" didn't find her.

Extra question - would variants of "winter" work for this card? Winterfell is the obvious one, but what about "winters" (with the "s")? - the Core Set Winterfell has that word in the flavor text.
    • brunopontes likes this
Photo
slothgodfather
Jul 11 2013 01:30 PM
@direkrikit - I would say that is stretching it too much, since it says to search for specific words. Winterfell is still a different word than "winter" so I do not think it could be applied to find that card.
    • kizerman86 likes this

HAHAHA. Just curious, is there a card you know of that has this?

(3.7) Card Abilities
"Card abilities" (i.e. "Character ability,"
"Location ability," or "Attachment ability")
refers to anything in a card's text box, except
for traits, keywords, and flavor text.

The above clearly indicates that a card's text box is made up for card abilities, traits, keywords and flavor text.

So I would say yes - the flavor text is part of the text box.


Am I misreading this?

"Card abilities" (i.e. "Character ability,"
"Location ability," or "Attachment ability")
refers to anything in a card's text box, except
for traits, keywords, and flavor text.


I admit at this point my mind is tangled in all the possiblities with this card. But doesnt that say a text box is made up of everything except traits, keywords, and flavor text? Meaning that you could not search for a card containing summer or winter in the flavor text?

And what is the combo with son of the mist, other than playing green dreams as your last card, then claiming a power while also putting a card back into your hand? If it were ruled to work that way. I would have to say thats far from a broken combo. Possibly a niche combo for Clansmen, who dont seem to synergize extremely well with either Season Agenda at first glance.

Certainly an effective card for the 2-3 decks that really want a Season. Winter Choke, Summer Burn, Bara Winter Wall... Other than that though Seasons have given way to the Charagenda havent they?
No. It is saying that card abilities is anything in the text box, except for those three things. Which means that those three things are part of the text box.
Gotcha. My mistake. I stand corrected.
Photo
slothgodfather
Sep 27 2013 04:09 PM
The FAQ entry is telling you what constitutes as "Card Abilities". It defines this by telling you that a card ability is ANYTHING within the text box, excluding the traits, keywords and flavor text. Said another way, anything that is within the text box that is NOT identified as traits, keywords or flavor text is considered a card ability (such as passives or triggered effects). There is yet to be a dedicated entry that explicitly defines what is contained within the text box. A different entry adds that gold/influence/initiative modifiers are also part of the text box.
I'll say this....I LOVE THIS CARD for a Stark Winter deck....Insta Grab Meera...Robb...Cat...even Crown of Winter!!!
Knolan, I've thought a similar thing for a Stark Shadow deck, so I can get characters such as Catelyn Stark (AToT), who are key to the deck, as previously without her turning up quickly I was screwed for Intrigue challenges.
That's I'm leaning towards...I'd done one in the past, but like you said without getting Cat or Meera early, it hurt. Couldn't get it going fast enough. And previously making it winter would hurt a Shadow deck.
This card and the new Agenda make it worth wild...and I'm playing with ideas now...and debating splashing "Tunnels" even